The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server lockups - dbindex / updateuserdomains

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by compunet2, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My server is locking up just about every hour since this morning (runs out of RAM, CPU shoots up). When I was able to capture a top, I noticed a huge amount of theses processes:

    /scripts/updateuserdomains
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dbindex

    How do I fix this?
     
  2. Mukesh252

    Mukesh252 Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    chandigarh, India
    Hi,

    I am facing same issue. Any fix for this?

    Thanks
     
  3. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, here's what I did... not sure if its a good fix or not, but so far I've been up for two hours which is longer than at any point since 5am.

    crontab -e
    remove the line for /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dbindex

    Then changed my update config to stable version of cPanel (from current) and ran /scripts/upcp --force

    Like I said, I'm keeping my fingers crossed but things haven't been going nuts since. I would like to know what dbindex does because it only seems to be on this server (I have others that aren't set to autoupdate cPanel that don't have it). So I'm guessing its something new they added in current?
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please make sure your version of dbindex was successfully updated. If you are running 11.28 RELEASE, you can use the following command to ensure you have the latest one.

    Code:
    wget -O /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dbindex http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/cpanelsync/RELEASE/bin/dbindex
    
     
  5. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Nick,

    I'm running Stable 11.26.20 now. What is dbindex? Should the cron for it be put back in?
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    dbindex is part of db-mapping. If you switched back to STABLE you do not need it.
     
  7. RCraft

    RCraft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We experienced this on 5 servers this morning and had to downgrade all of them. I contacted CPanel and here's what they recommended to fix it for the time being until the next update is released with the fix:

    mv /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dbindex /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dbindex.disabled


    Or simply do crontab -e and delete the cronjob for dbindex.

    It's a definite bug and it's crashing a lot of servers. Caused one helluva Friday morning for us.
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This happens when:

    1) dbindex DOES NOT get updated to 11.28.33 version
    2) updateuserdomains DOES get updated to 11.28.33 version
    3) you have missing entries in /etc/dbowners.

    The command I posted above to manually update dbindex to the 11.28.33 version and will resolve the problem without the need to disable it.
     
  9. RCraft

    RCraft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, your information conflicts with the answers I received in ticket # 1019930. They even sent me an additional update a little while ago telling me to move that directory.
     
  10. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    RCraft,

    I do apologize, however the information I posted above is the most current. While we were investigating this problem, we were asking people to disable it. The root cause has now been determined, and this is no longer the case.

    Thanks
     
  11. RCraft

    RCraft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks. I'm just going to wait for 11.28 to go to stable.
     
  12. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    11.28.35 (available now) will address this problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page