The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server rebooting NIGHTLY

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chew, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well I've tried everything my limited linux mind can think of.
    However I've ultimatly failed in my goal to figure out just what is causing my server to reboot Daily / Nightly.

    It'd be great if I can track it down, but to my knowledge, there's nothing that I know of that should be causing this to reboot every day.

    Well it's happening as I write this... server's rebooted three times in the last twenty minutes..

    /var/log/messages indicates that this is going on right when the server and all it's functions go down for a restart.

    Jan 22 02:24:12 alpha syslogd 1.4.1: restart.
    Jan 22 02:24:12 alpha syslog: syslogd startup succeeded

    I know it's logrotate, but why the hell is it causing my server to reboot?

    I've currently moved /etc/cron.daily/logrotate to /root/logrotate to see if the server stays up more than a day.

    If you have ANY ideas, PLEASE get back to me, as I've got processes that need to remain active longer than a day!

    Thanks in advance
    Chew
     
  2. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Thank GOD it's not just me. In teh past few days I have seen this on a couple boxes. Random reboots and the last thing in the /var/log/messages is exactally what you have... the next info comes several minutes later and shows the boot process. I have 3 boxes this is happening to now. I also noticed 2 times that there were entries for pure-ftpd, but not everytime. Are you running pure or proftp?
     
  3. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm not using pure, but proftpd

    As I mentioned before, I've removed the logrotate to see if that helps.

    We'll see
    Chew

    BTW I'm running dual PIII's on RH9
     
  4. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    well logrotate is still being called from somewhere outside the cron, so I removed it from /usr/sbin/ now.

    But I'm not sure logrotate is what's causing the server to dump out and reboot.

    It happened about 3 times today, and my box was flooded with crap about services failing and everything.

    *wracking his mind* WHAT COULD IT BE?!

    Chew
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is weird topic, I have never heard of a server rebooting on it's own. I would like to hear more about this. We have the latest cpanel on redhat8 pureftp but no servers are rebooting on there own.
     
  6. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you using RHE 3.0 ? I had one of mine rebooted yesterday.
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Weird yes. In 4 years of hosting I have never seen this until now. I did manage to make it through 30 hours now with out if hapening again.

    3 boxs. rh9 and rh7.3 , random reboots all of a sudden.
    I thought maybe it was power problem at EV1 in my case, but I have talked to others at different NOCS that have same issue at the same time frame. I am wondering what the hell is going on. But for now seems to be better. fingers crossed.
     
  8. jek

    jek Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    server doing multiple reboots

    My server does multiple reboots before it sits down quietly again. It can do up to 7 reboots in 20 minutes.

    I'm very glad to see that I'm not the only one who is facing this problem.

    I've checked all cron jobs... nothing there.

    I had to go back to the data-center to make sure that the CPU wasn't overheating... EVERYTHING was running smoothly.

    I'm short of buying a new power supply and motherboard just to make sure it isn't faulty hardware.

    What concerns me most is:
    a. It only started happening after I upgraded to the latest version of cPanel (8.8)
    b. I don't know when it is going to happen again... I can't spot any patterns yet. It just keeps rebooting whenever it feels like it.
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would seriously suspect bad RAM. When logrotate runs it is going to heavily excercise your physical memory and could be hitting a bad chip.

    I had problems with a server recently doing odd things (mostly kernel panics) and had the memory swapped out and the problems went away.
     
  10. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Anyone know of a linux program that tests ram and hard drives?

    fsck kinda sucks and I have not seen a memory testing script.
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  12. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sweet :p
     
  13. jek

    jek Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    RAM is good

    Hmmm... I may be doing this wrong... but RAM looks good so far. Any other ideas?


    ----------
    Testing 534683648 bytes at 0x4213d000 (4088 bytes lost to page alignment).

    Run 1:
    Test 1: Stuck Address: Testing...Passed.
    Test 2: Random value: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 3: XOR comparison: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 4: SUB comparison: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 5: MUL comparison: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 6: DIV comparison: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 7: OR comparison: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 8: AND comparison: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 9: Sequential Increment: Setting...Testing...Passed.
    Test 10: Solid Bits: Testing...Passed.
    Test 11: Block Sequential: Testing...Passed.
    Test 12: Checkerboard: Testing...Passed.
    Test 13: Bit Spread: Testing...Passed.
    Test 14: Bit Flip: Testing...Passed.
    Test 15: Walking Ones: Testing...Passed.
    Test 16: Walking Zeroes: Testing...Passed.
    Run 1 completed in 886 seconds (0 tests showed errors).
     
Loading...

Share This Page