The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Reimaged, need to get user lists back.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PaulOr, Jul 15, 2005.

  1. PaulOr

    PaulOr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have had to reimage a server, and we have put cPanel back on it. We do not have any back ups what so ever ( my fault ). We have all the data on 2 diffrent hard drives but we are having trouble getting WHM to find & desplay it. So we can go to List Accounts and Edit Accounts etc.

    Is there any steps that we can take to get this working, or any how-to's that can explain what to do.

    Thank you
    Paul
     
  2. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are you trying to merge two different copies of the same server? A little more specific, please.
     
  3. PaulOr

    PaulOr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    no sorry,
    the server had a hard drive failure. We have all the data, web sites etc on the hard drives , we are just trying to get whm to see it, so that whm will go back to how it was before the failure. Just now, whm has _nothing_ in it, no web sites at all. So if we go to edit someones account, we cannot.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You're in real trouble if all you have is the user data and no backups of the cPanel or OS data. Without having a backup you're going to have to reconstruct all the cPanel files by hand which is going to be a long and tortuous task, i.e. pretty much every configuration and settings file in /etc down and /var/cpanel down.

    A much better solution would be to move the contents of /home out of the way, then recreate everything again through WHM, then copy back over the data from the original /home afterwards.

    Still a very long task, but it will be quicker than having to recreate /etc and /var/cpanel by hand.
     
  5. PaulOr

    PaulOr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
     
  6. sv1

    sv1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We are needing to do this also, PaulOr how did you go about doing this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page