The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server root changed when acnt username updated??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jcsolutions, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Here is my situation:

    I changed the username for existing account -edit1-.org from 'mike' to 'mike2' through the WHM. After I did this, I also changed the domain and username on a newly created account from -edit2-.com and 'jrfarris' to -edit3-.com and 'jcs'.

    That's all I did. Soon after, I received an email notice that apache had failed, I logged into the server via SSH and tried restarting apahe using this command:
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart

    It failed and stated there was an invalid entry (or something like that) on line 77 of httpd.conf
    When I looked at this line, I saw that my server root path had changed from /usr/local/apache to /mike2/usr/local/apache

    PLEASE HELP! :confused:

    How can I change everything back? Wherever there was the path /usr/..., it is now /mike2/usr/... all throughout my httpd.conf file!

    Should I just update every path in the httpd.conf file, or could this have changed other files as well?
     
    #1 jcsolutions, Aug 12, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2003
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You can either use the config roll back feature in WHM, correct the file manually, use a backup file in apaches conf directory (cpanel usually makes a backup before changes) or use one of your backups.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the speedy response!

    Ok, I did the config rollback. It worked! (I should have thought of this. I was just in a panic.. :))

    Now everything seems normal except the /home/mike directory is gone, so that domain doesn't work.
    I had tried removing the account previously to see if that would resolve my first problem, but now when I try to restore the account from a backup, it says 'mike' already exists.
     
    #3 jcsolutions, Aug 12, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2003
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Check the 'mike' does not exist in /etc/passwd. If it does remove then try to readd the account.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    No, 'mike' doesn't exist there, however I notice that every entry has mike or mike2 in it...

    jcs:x:32246:763:/mike:/home/jcs:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell

    test:x:32095:596:/mike2:/home/test:/usr/local/cpanel/bin/noshell

    I'm guessing that's not right.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page