The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Shutdown Intermittenly

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sky, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I have this weird problem. After we did the upgrade of CPanel to WHM 9.9.7 cPanel 9.9.7-S6, the server keeps shutting down at odd hours.

    I am really at a fix as to what the issue is. Anyone knows of any issues and what can be done to resolve this? I am using Fedora 1.
     
  2. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    hire Steven from rack911.net or is it .com.. cant remember

    Sheldon
     
  3. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ???? sorry but i dont understand why I should hire steven when the problem only occurs after the upgrade. Before that I did not have any issues of this sort. Been running cpanel for 2 years now on the machine.
     
  4. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1. Check if there are any unusual cron setup.
    2. Check your logs.
    3. Try a /scripts/upcp --force to force a cpanel upgrade, just incase, if any file is currupt it would be restored.

    I am running latest stable on several boxes, no problems at all.
     
  5. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok cool .. will try that immediately to force update
     
  6. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    apparently when doing that i see alot of processes with

    /usr/bin/perl /usr/local/cpanel/checkrsync
    /bin/sh ./rsync --version

    and i mean in the thousands. what is wrong here? and the system went to such a crawl i have to reboot it. else i can't even do a directory list!!

    do advice pls. thanx!
     
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The rsync could have got stuck in memory. Try again and if the processes go in thousands again it would be better to have someone look at your box. Its not usual to have so many rsync processes.
     
  8. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    damn where to download rsync rpm. I go reinstall it before proceeding

    version rsync-2.5.7-2

    need it for fedora ... this is a sad day.
     
  9. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    rpm -e --nodeps rsync
    /scripts/installrpm rsync

    This should get you the proper rsync rpm for your distro.

    Alternatively you can get fedora packages at
    Code:
    http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3?stat=26&dist=31&size=141132&name=rsync-2.5.7-2.x86_64.rpm
     
    #9 anand, Oct 22, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2004
  10. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Here you go :)

    Code:
    http://updates.cpanel.net/fedora/linux/core/updates/1/i386/rsync-2.5.7-2.i386.rpm
    
     
  11. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanx anand for all the help.

    I tried that but could not remove it as exim requires it.

    anyway i downloaded the rpm from http://dag.wieers.com/packages/rsync/ for 2.6 fed and it is installed now.

    let me test and reply once everything is ok thanx!!
     
  12. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok obviously it still hit the snag

    you think it would be wise to reinstall the whole cpanel again ? lol

    sending a support ticket
     
  13. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok breaking it (CTRL-X) at that moment continues the update .....
     
  14. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Check yum, at times yum get stuck while its trying to check for updates.
     
  15. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok what do i need to do for yum ....


    btw i found out why my server is shutting down. i traced the logs and it is always after ftp session ending. then i checked which ftp server i was using after the upgrade and it was proftpd. i switched back to pureftpd and have not shutdown since then.

    this is totally wierd.
     
  16. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I had trouble with proftpd long back on a box of mine, from then i am using pureftp. Its much faster and smaller footprint. Though it doesn't log ftp transfer i still prefer it as it saves me lot of system resources.

    If you still want to go back to proftpd, just reinstall it using whm (i.e move to pureftp, then move back to proftpd) and see if it helps.
     
  17. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nah i prefer pureftp over proftpd :)

    thanx for the help anand ... and i like your little sig "let there be light" reminds me of one of my game dev project lol. we created a light source in the 3d world and said "let there be light" before launching the client. to our dismay it was black ... pitch darkness.... we later found out we completely forgot about vertices lol .. anyway thanx!
     
Loading...

Share This Page