The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server slow

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by amorosso, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. amorosso

    amorosso Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi everyone. Can someone please tell me how I can figure out what site or domain us causing a load on my server. Thank you in advance..
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can use the top command in root SSH and view the processes running, or you can use WHM > Daily Process logs area to see which user(s) and processes have the highest CPU, Memory and MySQL usage.
     
  3. amorosso

    amorosso Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you. This is what I have when I go into the daily log. What is nobody ?

    state 0.32 0.28 0.0
    mysql 0.10 2.30 0.0
    root 0.09 7.55 2.0
    askmediy 0.07 0.18 0.1
    sshd 0.01 0.00 0.0
    mailnull 0.00 0.10 0.0
    roof 0.00 0.01 0.0
    nobody 0.00 0.69 0.0
    dovecot 0.00 0.40 0.0
    named 0.00 0.20 0.0
    68 0.00 0.10 0.0
    cpanel 0.00 0.01 0.0
    reached 0.00 0.01 0.0
    kidfart 0.00 0.00 0.0
    mailman 0.00 0.00 0.0
    acc 0.00 0.00 0.0
    stick 0.00 0.00 0.0
    insur 0.00 0.00 0.0
    avahi 0.00 0.00 0.0
    dbus 0.00 0.00 0.0
    eximstats 0.00 0.00 0.5
    leechprotect 0.00 0.00 1.0
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    nobody runs the Apache processes for http content. nobody isn't high usage on that list.
     
  5. amorosso

    amorosso Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Oh OK. Thanks.. is there anything on that list that looks high. I'm just trying to figure out why and what. This is somewhat all the sudden. Well over a few months I guess. Now Google is even saying my main site is very slow. But it's still the same size.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the current load on your server? If you run the "uptime" command in root SSH, you'll get the load.
     
Loading...

Share This Page