The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Server Status & Pop

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Marrauder, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. Marrauder

    Marrauder Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,
    I am a long time user of CPanel and was recently using WHM as a reseller. I have now moved to my own VPS and have full root access to my WHM and I am having some small issues setting up. I have moved my web site from my old reseller WHM to the new one and now noticed some small problems receiving emails on my android phone. My settings on my phone were incoming mail was pop.mydomain.com but now it errors. This made me look into things and I also noticed pop is not showing in server status. I am also running WHMCS and my support mail import using the pop import cron is not working.

    I am running Dovecot as the selected mail server type and I have looked in service manager and there is nothing there for me to monitor pop. I can go to the pop3 service and restart it and it restarts and says all is ok. Am I doing something wrong, can someone point me to a dummy guide for this

    Thanks
     
  2. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you check:

    WHM >> Service Configuration >> Mailserver Configuration >>
    Protocols Enabled

    You need to select POP3 / POP3S

    I think your issue maybe different.

    When you ping pop.mydomain.com from your local machine what is the output you get?
     
  3. Marrauder

    Marrauder Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes all is enabled in WHM >> Service Configuration >> Mailserver Configuration >>

    Ping pop.mydomain.com and it says host cannot be found.

    Thanks for response
     
  4. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Right.

    So it means that this is a DNS issue.

    You may also want to ping mail.domainname.com and just domainname.com and see whether it leads you to your server.

    If not, then you need to check your entire DNS and Nameserver at your domain registrar end, if mail.domainname.com pings successfully, then you can put that in to your phone.

    If you still want to use pop.domainname.com then you will need to add the A record for that.
     
  5. Marrauder

    Marrauder Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    mail.domain.com is working on my phone, thanks.

    Now there is the issue of the pop not showing up for monitoring in the server status. I cannot find it in the services manager to place the tick on monitor? anyone have any ideas for this bne?
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    POP3 doesn't show up in Service Manager as it isn't default part of /etc/chkserv.d/chkservd.conf file on new cPanel installs:

    root@host [/etc/chkserv.d]# cat chkservd.conf
    cpanellogd:1
    cpsrvd:1
    ftpd:1
    imap:1
    named:1
    queueprocd:1

    A file does exist at /etc/chkserv.d/pop location, though, so you could always add it to chkservd.conf file to be monitored.
     
  7. Marrauder

    Marrauder Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh OK that explains why it isn't there, I will have a look at the files and see if it is obvious how to add it or not. Thanks all for the assistance.

    [update]
    Added pop:1 to the chkservd.conf and it now shows in server status. Thanks
     
    #7 Marrauder, Sep 4, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page