The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

server status

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dropby23, Feb 20, 2005.

  1. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how can ş make that when customers look to the server status it only says the server is working fine
     

    Attached Files:

  2. michthien

    michthien Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i want to know the same thing too
     
  3. xkevinx

    xkevinx Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I dont see why you would want to do that. It provides useful Information
     
  4. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i don't want to see this customers
     
  5. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    locate status.html

    and for the skin being used play with it. Make sure to backup the original copy before playing with it. Not Advised To Do Such Things. Why shouldn't a Customer Be Able To See Such information?

    Anup
     
  6. Abo_Ali

    Abo_Ali Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The server is working fine i want to know the same thing too
     
  7. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    He probably has a slow server and a slow CPU and the CPU usage might always be high and memory might always be high and so forth. Ya know. Its one of them things.
     
  8. dropby23

    dropby23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    memory and cpu is good but we are under a heavy ddos attach about 9 days and the costumers don't need to know about that

    i think status.html is the wrong place
     
  9. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    status.html -- I could be wrong. But before posting, i ran a check, stopped backend httpd server but the cpanel (customer end) interface still showed the stuff "GREEN"

    Just as i said, since i would never consider being untruthful to my clients i could be wrong.

    Anup
     
  10. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That screen (status.html) is not real-time. It updates on 8 minute intervals as controlled by chkservd process. When you stop a service or even when you start a downed service it can take upto 8 minutes for the status.html screen to reflect the change in process status. You can force an update by restarting the chkservd service but that is not ideal.
     
  11. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Yup i agree.
    I replaced the *single lin* in status.html with static code all showing green
    Removed the cpu/load etc obviously from there in an attempt to ensure that my clients do not feel that they are being cheated :)

    It was just a test before posting and i posted only after testing the same but reverted back to the original status.html as come what may, i would want my clients to be aware of problems if they arise. If they stick with me, they were always my client, but if they cannot take a few hickup in a year (well within SLA), they were never my clients anyway :)

    Thanks
    Anup
     
  12. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Well, first, stop that dos attack. Second, your clients deserve to know why their sites are loading slow and so forth. There is no reason that you should be hiding anything from your clients. Do a lil research, find the website getting hit and delete it from the server and get the registar to change the nameserver so it does not point to your server at all.
     
  13. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try installing mod_dosevasive it can help some.
     
Loading...

Share This Page