Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

server_hostname_validator "invalid hostname configuration"

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by jndawson, Aug 31, 2015.

  1. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Randomly over the past several weeks, we get an emailed report from randomly different cPanel servers complaining about our hostname:

    We have no issue with our A & PTR records for our servers - they match just as they're supposed to. Next week, we may get a notice from another cPanel server, which will also not reflect reality.

    Is something wrong with the script? Is there something else we need to check?
     
    #1 jndawson, Aug 31, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,928
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you able to reproduce the issue on any of these servers by manually running the "/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname" command? Are these servers connected to the same DNS cluster, or is DNS handled separately on each server?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Western US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We corrected the issue by renaming the server with the same name it was named with.
    Code:
    The hostname was already set to cp2.ourdomain.com, syncing configuration only.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,928
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. It's likely there was cached data that had yet to update. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice