The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

server_hostname_validator "invalid hostname configuration"

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by jndawson, Aug 31, 2015.

  1. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Randomly over the past several weeks, we get an emailed report from randomly different cPanel servers complaining about our hostname:

    We have no issue with our A & PTR records for our servers - they match just as they're supposed to. Next week, we may get a notice from another cPanel server, which will also not reflect reality.

    Is something wrong with the script? Is there something else we need to check?
     
    #1 jndawson, Aug 31, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2015
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you able to reproduce the issue on any of these servers by manually running the "/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname" command? Are these servers connected to the same DNS cluster, or is DNS handled separately on each server?

    Thank you.
     
  3. jndawson

    jndawson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We corrected the issue by renaming the server with the same name it was named with.
    Code:
    The hostname was already set to cp2.ourdomain.com, syncing configuration only.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. It's likely there was cached data that had yet to update. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
Loading...

Share This Page