Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Serving the same files to two different addon domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kadeo, Sep 28, 2017.

1. kadeo

kadeo Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi all.

First time poster, and relatively new and self taught developer. Be gentle! :)

Ok, So I have two addon domains against my main domain... maindomain.uk, addondomain.uk and addondomain.ie (the same domain name but different TLDs). For the most part, the two addon domains will be completely different from each other. However, I want to run the same forum on both of them. I'm using SMF for the forum software if that info is any use.

While I'm pretty sure I can figure out how to get the forums on both addon domains to use the same database, and so effectively be the same forum, it seems like I should go a step further and actually serve the forum software files from the same location too. So that if a change is required, that I'm only having to do it once and both domains will see the updates.

My hosting provider suggested a .htaccess redirect but my understanding of this is that the browser will be redirected to a different page rather than just the file requests of the server being redirected. I want addondomain.uk/community and addondomain.ie/community to remain distinct URLs but serve the same files.

Please ask me questions to clarify if I haven't done a good enough job of doing that already.

Hope you can help. Thanks.

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,