The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

session.gc_maxlifetime in .htaccess

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ladydi711, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi all,

    I have a site that recently moved from a server running WHM 11.32.6 (build 18) to a new server running WHM 11.38.1 (build 15)

    On the old server, there is an .htaccess file that includes:
    php_value session.gc_maxlifetime 28800

    After the move to the new server, the sessions are getting timed out at what seems to be the php.ini default of 1440, while on the old server it was honoring the 28800.

    Oddly, a phpinfo() shows the local value 28800 and master value of 1440.

    Am I missing some configuration somewhere on the new server?

    TIA,
    Diane
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for the reply. Yes, dso on both.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's possible the issue is with your individual script if the sessions are timing out and the phpinfo data for the account shows the correct local value. Is the version of PHP installed the same as well? Is this happening with multiple scripts on multiple accounts or is it isolated to a single application on one account?

    Thank you.
     
  5. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It is occurring on one application on one account (that I've been made aware of). The application script hasn't changed; I just did a WHM account transfer. The php versions are different 5.2.17 to 5.3.22. I have not seen any php error messages.

    Thanks again for your assistance!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's possible this is related to the script's behavior with the newer version of PHP. You may want to consult with the script developer to see if a newer version is available, or if there are any known issues with it's use of sessions on PHP 5.3.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page