Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Set mod_qos to ignore Google IPs

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by cosmin, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    I use mod_qos and I want to put in settings to ignore Google Bot IPs.

    Now I have
    Code:
    <IfModule mod_qos.c>
    # handles connections from up to 100000 different IPs
    QS_ClientEntries 100000
    # allow only 20 connections per IP
    QS_SrvMaxConnPerIP 10
    # maximum number of active TCP connections is limited to 256
    MaxClients 256
    # disables keep-alive when 70% of the TCP connections are occupied:
    QS_SrvMaxConnClose 180
    # minimum request/response speed (deny slow clients blocking the server, ie. slowloris keeping connections open without requesting anything). Example: Requires a minimum of 150 bytes per second per connection, and limits the connection to 1200 bytes per second when the server reaches the MaxClients limit.:
    QS_SrvMinDataRate 150 1200
    # and limit request header and body (carefull, that limits uploads and post requests too):
    # LimitRequestFields 30
    # QS_LimitRequestBody 102400
    #
    # disables connection restrictions for certain clients like Google IP ranges:
    QS_SrvMaxConnExcludeIP 66.249.
    
    # restricts max concurrent requests for any location which has no individual rule:
    QS_LocRequestLimitDefault 100
    </IfModule>
    
    
    but google is blocked.

    Were is the problem?

    Many thanks!
     
    #1 cosmin, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,174
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Is it possible the IP addresses are blocked by another application? What's the specific entry you see in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when the IP address is blocked?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    No, I have only csf for blocking IP.
    In error_log I have

    [Mon Jun 20 22:18:39 2016] [error] [client 66.249.66.185] mod_qos(045): access denied, invalid request line: can't parse uri, c=66.249.66.185, id=V2hBj1vYnEYADY769aYAAAAF
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,174
    Likes Received:
    1,934
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice