The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Set mod_qos to ignore Google IPs

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by cosmin, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    I use mod_qos and I want to put in settings to ignore Google Bot IPs.

    Now I have
    Code:
    <IfModule mod_qos.c>
    # handles connections from up to 100000 different IPs
    QS_ClientEntries 100000
    # allow only 20 connections per IP
    QS_SrvMaxConnPerIP 10
    # maximum number of active TCP connections is limited to 256
    MaxClients 256
    # disables keep-alive when 70% of the TCP connections are occupied:
    QS_SrvMaxConnClose 180
    # minimum request/response speed (deny slow clients blocking the server, ie. slowloris keeping connections open without requesting anything). Example: Requires a minimum of 150 bytes per second per connection, and limits the connection to 1200 bytes per second when the server reaches the MaxClients limit.:
    QS_SrvMinDataRate 150 1200
    # and limit request header and body (carefull, that limits uploads and post requests too):
    # LimitRequestFields 30
    # QS_LimitRequestBody 102400
    #
    # disables connection restrictions for certain clients like Google IP ranges:
    QS_SrvMaxConnExcludeIP 66.249.
    
    # restricts max concurrent requests for any location which has no individual rule:
    QS_LocRequestLimitDefault 100
    </IfModule>
    
    
    but google is blocked.

    Were is the problem?

    Many thanks!
     
    #1 cosmin, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Is it possible the IP addresses are blocked by another application? What's the specific entry you see in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when the IP address is blocked?

    Thank you.
     
  3. cosmin

    cosmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucuresti
    No, I have only csf for blocking IP.
    In error_log I have

    [Mon Jun 20 22:18:39 2016] [error] [client 66.249.66.185] mod_qos(045): access denied, invalid request line: can't parse uri, c=66.249.66.185, id=V2hBj1vYnEYADY769aYAAAAF
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page