Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Set Safe_mode On and Off!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yawsh, Dec 31, 2006.

  1. yawsh

    yawsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi,
    My php.ini has safe_mode value On

    To check it we use:


    I need to set safe_mode = off for about 2 min daily to run some cron jobs.


    Is there any known ssh commands to set it from a command line rather than doing it from the editor? so I would make it in a file to switch it off at 0200 and run cron jobs at 0201 and then back on at 0202.

    Experts, Any help?! :rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Nhojohl

    Nhojohl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You could have something like...two php.ini files. Make a cron job in...

    # crontab -e

    And have it execute something like...

    # cp /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini /usr/local/Zend/etc/php-safe.ini
    # cp /usr/local/Zend/etc/php-unsafe.ini /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini
    # service httpd restart

    And then do your cron job that you needed safemode off for and then have another cron executed lastly a minute later doing...

    # cp /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini /usr/local/Zend/etc/php-unsafe.ini
    # cp /usr/local/Zend/etc/php-safe.ini /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini
    # service httpd restart

    In the normal php.ini file you'd have your safe mode on, then all you'd need to do is copy your php.ini and make one named php-unsafe.ini and in it change safe_mode to off.

    Providing you can physically make a cron restart apache (httpd)... it should work;)
     
  3. yawsh

    yawsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I'm doing that currently. :) with 2 php.ini files called

    php.ini ----> safe mode = on
    php.ini.off ----> safe mode = off

    and renaming them by a 2 cron jobs files and restart apache

    _phpini-rename2off.sh
    _phpini-rename2on.sh

    Thanks Nhojohl

    Any other way guys?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What about using the command "replace" ?

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    replace "safe mode = on" "safe mode = off" -- /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    /path/to/your/script
    replace "safe mode = off" "safe mode = on" -- /usr/local/lib/php.ini
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Nhojohl

    Nhojohl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I think you may be on to something...:eek:
     
  6. yawsh

    yawsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Thanks yapluka

    I tried to do it.

    It worked fine for me.


    php.ini is linked to Zend
    PHP:
    php.ini -> /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini
    When I replaced Safe_mode = on to = off .. it converted the file and removed the link:
    PHP:
    replace "safe_mode = On" "safe_mode = Off" -- /usr/local/lib/php.ini ; /etc/init.d/httpd restart
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini converted
    /etc/init.d/httpd restarthttpd restarted
    Also when I did it visa versa:
    PHP:
    replace "safe_mode = Off" "safe_mode = On" -- /usr/local/lib/php.ini ; /etc/init.d/httpd restart
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini converted
    /etc/init.d/httpd restarthttpd restarted
    Then I lost Zend. All sites with zend scripts are down. Thanks GOD I had a backup of my php.ini file :D

    Any fix!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Then you would use this command :

    Code:
    replace "safe_mode = On" "safe_mode = Off" -- /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. yawsh

    yawsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    It was giving same problem...

    But I did some tweaking :)

    PHP:
    replace "safe_mode=on" ";safe_mode=on" -- /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini replace ";safe_mode=off" "safe_mode=off" -- /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini ; /etc/init.d/httpd restart
    replace 
    ";safe_mode=on" "safe_mode=on" -- /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini replace "safe_mode=off" ";safe_mode=off" -- /usr/local/Zend/etc/php.ini ; /etc/init.d/httpd restart
    The code woring fine now ... Thanks a lot yapluka
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. yapluka

    yapluka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad to know it's working now :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice