Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Setting rDNS and PTR records Question

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by rudtek, Feb 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. rudtek

    rudtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oregon
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone. I've read tutorials on this and tried a few things but I can't figure out what is going on and I hope someone can help.

    I have 3 ip records: (numbers changed to protect the innocent)

    1.2.3.7 (my actual server)
    1.2.3.8 - 1st glue record - nameserver 1
    1.2.3.9 - 2nd glue record - nameserver 2

    so my actual server is at the first ip. That's where i access ftp, the site etc. The other 2 IPs are never accessed.

    My question is which should be the ptr record ?

    In my "add new zone Entry" in WHM I created a new entry called:
    3.2.1.in-addr.arpa

    Then I created a PTR record

    7 PTR server.example.com
    8 PTR ns1.example.com
    9 PTR ns2.example.com

    is this what i should have done?
     
    #1 rudtek, Feb 23, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To expand on what Michael has said, do something like this:

    dig 3.2.1.in-addr.arpa ns @some.public.resolver ( eg: dig 3.2.1.in-addr.arpa ns @resolver.qwest.net )

    In the answer section are the nameservers that handle rDNS (the PTR records) for that block. If you don't have control over the nameservers listed in the Answer section, you'll need to contact the company who manages those nameservers and ask that they add the PTRs for you.

    It's quite rare that a cPanel provider would have delegated authority to your server to manage those records locally. However, depending upon the datacenter, in your billing/administrative interfaces for all of your services you may have the option.

    For instance, at Digital Ocean one can log into their DO account and manage PTR records for those IP addresses that were assigned to their server by DO.

    Mike
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice