Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Setting Roots Crontab

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Justin22, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. Justin22

    Justin22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hey everyone, i have a general server question. Before I go ahead and ask I will let you know im using FC4 with "Minimal" features on the install. I want to update roots crontab to automatically run a necessarry script every 2 minutes. Yes thats easy, but, when i type crontab -e at a root shell, i get this error:

    /bin/sh: pico: command not found
    crontab: "pico" exited with status 127

    Anyone know a way i could maybe download the crontab file? And edit it on my windows system then restart? If so, were is this file? Specific instructions please Linux n00b here :rolleyes:
     
  2. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You could try the following command:
    # alias pico='nano -w -z'
    # crontab -e

    Another way of adding your script as a cron would be:
    # cat > /etc/cron.d/mycronfiletorunmyscript
    SHELL=/bin/bash
    0/2 * * * * root /path/path/path/myscript -parameters
    {PRESS CTRL+D to save the file}

    hth
     
  3. Justin22

    Justin22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks for you hep
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Or, perhaps more simply:

    cd /usr/bin
    ln -s v nano pico
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make that

    Code:
    ln  -sv nano  pico
    or alternatively you may get "yum install pico" to work, I don't know whether they're the same program or not!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice