Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Setting SPF uses private IP instead of public

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by carolainn, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. carolainn

    carolainn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello there!

    When I enable the SPF the value uses the private IP of the server, instead of the public one. Why is this? and how can I change it so it doesn't happens again?

    I've noticed that me and my clients are having some email issues, like not receiving some emails with no notification from the server, or people that uses outlook, and it is not able to connect properly, despite the user, password, ports, etc are correct.

    Any thought?
    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @carolainn

    I had opened a case about mail deliverability reports reporting the internal IP address erroneously and it was found that this seems to only occur in cases where the NAT configuration is not set up properly. Can you tell me what the output of the following is:

    Code:
    cat /var/cpanel/cpnat
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. carolainn

    carolainn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Lauren,

    Thanks for your quick reply.
    The output is the following:

    cat: /var/cpanel/cpnat: No such file or directory
     
    cPanelLauren likes this.
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @carolainn

    That may explain the issue. Can you run the following and let me know the output (just remove the actual public IP address)

    Code:
    /scripts/build_cpnat
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. carolainn

    carolainn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Lauren,

    Here's the output.

    warn [build_cpnat] Unable to map xx.xxx.x.176
    info [build_cpnat] xxx.xx.xx.234 => xxx.xx.xx.234
    info [build_cpnat] All publicly routeable addresses are the same as the local address. Not a NAT system.
     
  6. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    343
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What does

    cat /etc/wwwacct.conf | grep ^ADDR

    show?

    Does the first octet start with 192 or 10?
     
  7. carolainn

    carolainn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, the output is:

    ADDR 148.xx.xx.234
    ADDR6
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    In your initial message you indicated:

    But based on the output of that command you do not have a private IP address.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    carolainn likes this.
  9. carolainn

    carolainn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, my mistake. I meant reserved IP (10.xxx.x.176) which only the server uses.
    All the accounts are configured with the other one (148.xx.xx.234), but when I set the SPF on, it uses the reserved IP by default.
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @carolainn
    10. anything should be a private IP address it sounds as though there may be a misconfiguration with the NAT routing please feel free to open a ticket while we won't be able to resolve issues with the configuration itself we may be able to let you know how to proceed.
    Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. carolainn

    carolainn Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, thank you, I'll let you know as soon as it's resolved.
     
    cPanelLauren likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice