The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting standalone nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by yckelvin, Dec 4, 2015.

1. yckelvin

yckelvin Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear Sir/Madam,

I am new to cPanel/WHM, I have similar case as the thread addon domains error message: "the domain is already pointed to an IP address that does not" but I have no idea where I should add the nameserver setting, from cPanel or WHM?

I have a new domain say newdomain.com and new VM with hostname say newVM.

I have an existing nameserver say ns1.existns.net, ns2.exisnst.net

I register the newdomain.com from the registrar and point the nameserver of this domain to ns1.existns.net and ns2.existns.net, ip of newdomain.com is pointed to the ip of newVM.

On newVM, I create a new cPanel with primary domain as newdomain.com, I setup the Basic cPanel & WHM Setup -> Nameservers with ns3.exsitns.net and ns4.exsitns.net which both ip are pointed back to its newVM ip, of course I do add the A record for ns3 and ns4 on exsitns.net

I click into the Advanced Zone Editor, I found the A record of newdomain.com is pointed newVM ip address and CNAME record of ftp.newdomain.com is pointed to newdomain.com

Now when I nslookup the ip of ftp.newdomain.com from outsider, it is pointed to ip of ns1.existns.net and I cannot able to resolve the ip of ftp to newdomain.com ip

What's wrong I did on the setting? If I want to have the newdomain.com to be a standalone nameserver and all new coming addon domain created on this cPanel can be propagated, I don't want to update the coming addon domain on existns.net.

Here is the summary of the setting.
    existns.net

> nameserver ns1.existns.net, ns2.existns.net