The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

setting up a my sql

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by shanekk, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. shanekk

    shanekk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi

    I created a sql database. I give this database a name and i give it 1 user and a password, i am only messing about with it to see how to do it so its not real here is the info im using




    The info i used is (Database name ire_test) (Users ire_pj) (password 12345)

    so my php scrip i put

    $dbhost = 'localhost'
    $dbusername = ire_test
    $dbpasswd = 12345
    $database_name = ire_pj

    but i cant get my form on my website page to work keeps saying Couldn't connect to server.

    anyone know what would be wrong
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please ensure that you added the database username to the database in the "MySQL" section of cPanel. This is documented at:

    Define A User's Privilege

    If you have done that, could you post the specific error message that is output when you attempt to connect to the MySQL server?

    Thank you.
     
  3. shanekk

    shanekk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thanks for the reply

    yes the message i get is

    Couldn't connect to server. in the top left

    i am trying to do it the same as a video in u tube so i have done everything same as him the video is here

    /http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ej9NY9GBn_o

    the domain im using 2 it try out on is here if it helps

    /http://www.irelandwebdesign.biz/

    i dont know if this helps and iv put all ALL PRIVILEGES on for that user name i dont know why it would not be working???
     
  4. shanekk

    shanekk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    its ok i have it now i had the $dbusername and $database_name the wrong way about i have it now
     
  5. shanekk

    shanekk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    im having bother again can you help wit this

    now when i fiil out the form it will not send the email to the email address i put in the form, if you know what i mean its ment to send a email so people can press a link to make there account work

    here is the code for my register.php

    PHP:
    <?

    include 
    'db.php';

    // Define post fields into simple variables
    $first_name $_POST['first_name'];
    $last_name $_POST['last_name'];
    $email_address $_POST['email_address'];
    $username $_POST['username'];
    $info $_POST['info'];

    /* Let's strip some slashes in case the user entered
    any escaped characters. */

    $first_name stripslashes($first_name);
    $last_name stripslashes($last_name);
    $email_address stripslashes($email_address);
    $username stripslashes($username);
    $info stripslashes($info);


    /* Do some error checking on the form posted fields */

    if((!$first_name) || (!$last_name) || (!$email_address) || (!$username)){
        echo 
    'You did not submit the following required information! <br />';
        if(!
    $first_name){
            echo 
    "First Name is a required field. Please enter it below.<br />";
        }
        if(!
    $last_name){
            echo 
    "Last Name is a required field. Please enter it below.<br />";
        }
        if(!
    $email_address){
            echo 
    "Email Address is a required field. Please enter it below.<br />";
        }
        if(!
    $username){
            echo 
    "Desired Username is a required field. Please enter it below.<br />";
        }
        include 
    'join_form.html'// Show the form again!
        /* End the error checking and if everything is ok, we'll move on to
         creating the user account */
        
    exit(); // if the error checking has failed, we'll exit the script!
    }
        
    /* Let's do some checking and ensure that the user's email address or username
     does not exist in the database */
     
     
    $sql_email_check mysql_query("SELECT email_address FROM users WHERE email_address='$email_address'");
     
    $sql_username_check mysql_query("SELECT username FROM users WHERE username='$username'");
     
     
    $email_check mysql_num_rows($sql_email_check);
     
    $username_check mysql_num_rows($sql_username_check);
     
     if((
    $email_check 0) || ($username_check 0)){
         echo 
    "Please fix the following errors: <br />";
         if(
    $email_check 0){
             echo 
    "<strong>Your email address has already been used by another member in our database. Please submit a different Email address!<br />";
             unset(
    $email_address);
         }
         if(
    $username_check 0){
             echo 
    "The username you have selected has already been used by another member in our database. Please choose a different Username!<br />";
             unset(
    $username);
         }
         include 
    'join_form.html'// Show the form again!
         
    exit();  // exit the script so that we do not create this account!
     
    }
     
    /* Everything has passed both error checks that we have done.
    It's time to create the account! */

    /* Random Password generator. 
    http://www.phpfreaks.com/quickcode/Random_Password_Generator/56.php

    We'll generate a random password for the
    user and encrypt it, email it and then enter it into the db.
    */

    function makeRandomPassword() {
      
    $salt "abchefghjkmnpqrstuvwxyz0123456789";
      
    srand((double)microtime()*1000000); 
          
    $i 0;
          while (
    $i <= 7) {
                
    $num rand() % 33;
                
    $tmp substr($salt$num1);
                
    $pass $pass $tmp;
                
    $i++;
          }
          return 
    $pass;
    }

    $random_password makeRandomPassword();

    $db_password md5($random_password);

    // Enter info into the Database.
    $info2 htmlspecialchars($info);
    $sql mysql_query("INSERT INTO users (first_name, last_name, email_address, username, password, info, signup_date)
            VALUES('
    $first_name', '$last_name', '$email_address', '$username', '$db_password', '$info2', now())") or die (mysql_error());

    if(!
    $sql){
        echo 
    'There has been an error creating your account. Please contact the webmaster.';
    } else {
        
    $userid mysql_insert_id();
        
    // Let's mail the user!
        
    $subject "Your Membership at Digital TV Donegal!";
        
    $message "Dear $first_name $last_name,
        Thank you for registering at our website, http://www.digitaltvdonegal.com!
        
        You are two steps away from logging in and accessing our exclusive members area.
        
        To activate your membership, please click here: http://www.irelandwebdesign.biz/activate.php?id=
    $userid&code=$db_password
        
        Once you activate your memebership, you will be able to login with the following information:
        Username: 
    $username
        Password: 
    $random_password
        
        Thanks!
        The shane
        
        This is an automated response, please do not reply!"
    ;
        
        
    mail($email_address$subject$message"From: MyDomain Webmaster<admin@mydomain.com>\nX-Mailer: PHP/" phpversion());
        echo 
    'Your membership information has been mailed to your email address! Please check it and follow the directions!';
    }

    ?>
    iv put the domain in the other post

    thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page