The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up a new server, copy account structure from old server

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by GoWilkes, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm setting up a new server, and will be moving an account from an old server to this one.

    For now, though, I want to copy over the structure of the account, but not the /home/account/ content. The content itself is about 4G, and I'm not ready for all that yet (if I did it now, I would just have to do it again in a few days). For this, I intend to use rsync when the time is right.

    What I want to copy now, though, is the DNS information, email accounts, and parked domains.

    What is the best way to do this? Both servers use WHM, and I have root access to both.

    TIA,

    Jason
     
  2. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nevermind, I'm an idiot. I looked under Transfers > Copy an Account From Another Server, and saw the option to "Skip homedir".

    Why this option doesn't exist under "Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password", I don't know.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,711
    Likes Received:
    658
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You should only use "Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password" in instances where you do not have root access to the source server. It does not have all of the same options that are available when you have root access to the source server.

    Thank you.
     
  4. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That was my thought, too, but I don't see Skip homedir, Skip account databases, Skip bandwidth data, or Express Transfer with "... With an Account Password".

    Just as surprisingly, under "Copy an Account From Another Server", it still asks me for the User or Root login for the source server. That's confusing; the implication is that you can use this option if you don't have the source server's password, but then it asks you for the source server's password?

    FWIW, this is WHM 11.42.0 (build 17).
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,711
    Likes Received:
    658
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Right, you should only use "Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password" in instances where you do "not" have root access to the source server. As in, you should not use "Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password" unless absolutely necessary.

    It's asking for the root password to the source server. The other option is asking for the account password. It makes sense that more options are available to you if you have root access to the source server.

    Thank you.
     
  6. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh, I follow you. Duh! I don't know if it's the verbiage of the title that threw me off or what; I mistakenly thought that "With Account Password" would offer more options than the assumed "WITHOUT Account Password".

    It makes sense now, though.
     
Loading...

Share This Page