The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up a new website?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fr34k123, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. fr34k123

    fr34k123 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, i wondered if someone could offer some advice.

    I currently own 3 domain names - 1 of which is linked to a fully operational website. We recently had to move web hosts after problems with our old VPS. Our old setup was WHM access with a cpanel account linked/setup for each of our domains/websites (each domain at some point was a working site). As we've only got the one website our new hosts set everything up for us and provided us with the cpanel login for our current site (we've not been given WHM access - and we haven't requested it so far).

    I am wanting to set up an online community site (completely different subject matter and cms to my current site) - as we dont have whm access to setup the new account i emailed our hosts on how we go about setting the new site up - they have come back and said that once the new domain has been purchased all i need to do is go in to our current sites cpanel and create a new addon domain for the new site...

    Is this the correct procedure for a completely new website - will we have new url @xxxxx.co.uk email accounts, ftp accounts, sql etc to reflect the new site by using our current sites cpanel to set things up? I want the new site to be a completely separate thing from our current site and would prefer they didn't 'share' things

    we always had separate cpanel accounts for each website we ran with our previous hosts and they set things up for us - so im new to all this...

    Thanks in advance for any advice/info
     
  2. whitey10tc

    whitey10tc Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    assuming you no longer have vps or dedicated server then yes their instructions are correct.
     
  3. fr34k123

    fr34k123 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    We are on a VPS - so would the normal protocol be what we were used to whereby a new cpanel account is created for each new url?
     
    #3 fr34k123, Feb 7, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Only if that's what you want. Otherwise, you can use one cPanel account and have multiple sites that do not share anything. Except the cPanel account itself.
     
  5. fr34k123

    fr34k123 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    So if multiple sites are sharing the same cpanel account what does that mean for emails, sql, site statistics etc....

    Surely with a VPS it would make more sense to have a cpanel account per domain? especially when the two websites are running completely different CMS
     
  6. AutumnMeadow

    AutumnMeadow Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Each account sharing the cpanel account would have its own separate email, sql, site stats etc...
     
Loading...

Share This Page