The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up a VPS with cPanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MH-Dennis, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. MH-Dennis

    MH-Dennis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I have a new dedicated server and I would like to setup a VPS account. Does anyone know how I would go about doing this? And after setting it up, how would I go about getting cPanel on it? Would I have to buy a new license or what?

    Regards,
    Dennis
     
  2. Drewley

    Drewley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you will need some VPS software, i reccomend OpenVZ. (google it)

    and yes, each VPS needs its own cpanel licence, however these are available at a discounted rate, very cheap, around £7 each.

    hope thats some help!
     
  3. MH-Dennis

    MH-Dennis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you, I appreciate it very much!

    Regards,
    Dennis
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First install a supported virtual environment. You can find a list of supported virtual environments at the bottom of our system requirements page at:

    http://www.cpanel.net/products/cPanelandWHM/linux/sys_requirements.htm

    You will need 1 cPanel/WHM license per VPS server. While you can use a dedicated server license on a VPS server, you may want to acquire a cheaper VPS license of cPanel/WHM for each of those servers. If your data center sells cPanel/WHM licenses, they can probably give you the best deal. Otherwise you can get VPS licenses from one of our distributors. You can find a list of our distributors by visiting:

    http://www.cpanel.net/partners/partner-lookup.cgi?showall=1&distonly=1

    Once you have licenses and the VPS set up, you can install cPanel/WHM on each VPS as you would a dedicated server.
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you mean you want to host VPS servers off of your dedicated each loaded with Cpanel?

    << just trying to clarify exactly as to what you are asking here >>
     
  6. Dimmis

    Dimmis Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I just found the exact same question i needed to ask so here it is:

    We own a server with a single VPS that we use for running our websites. The server is simply operating in order for the VPS to run. We have bought a full one year license. Now we want to buy another server with again one only VPS to run more websites but again only on the VPS. The second server will be use only as a platform for the new VPS. What kind of license we have to buy this time? Full or VPS ?
    Thanks a lot for your time.
     
    #6 Dimmis, Sep 21, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2007
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note that using a dedicated server license for a VPS, while it will work, is overkill. You could simply be using a VPS license for that VPS server.

    As for the new VPS server, you will need 1 VPS license for each VPS running cPanel/WHM on that physical server.

    Note, cPanel, Inc does not sell small quantities of VPS licenses directly. Instead, you should inquire with your data center to see if they can offer VPS licenses of cPanel/WHM (they'd likely be able to give you the best deal). Otherwise, check out our distributors (ignore any entries for cPanel, Inc):

    http://www.cpanel.net/partners/search.html?distonly=1

    Note to those finding this thread in a few months, this information is always subject to change - your best bet would be to email billing@cpanel.net for the latest information.
     
  8. Dimmis

    Dimmis Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your help. Originally our plan was to have the server working, so we bought a full year license. Then we decided to run a VPS using all the server's resources for more security so we installed this VPS on that server and run everything from there. So i guess for next year, when our license expire we will have to renew a VPS license instead of a full one?

    Regards
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could do that, just remember we do not sell VPS licenses directly :)
     
  10. Dimmis

    Dimmis Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks David. Have a nice day!
     
Loading...

Share This Page