The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting Up DNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by furmanator7, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. furmanator7

    furmanator7 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't understand what I'm doing wrong, but I'm sure this is a simple fix.

    I setup WHM/cPanel for the first time on my VPS and understand how DNS works for the most part (or so I thought).

    I created under the main domain name 2 nameservers (ns1.maindomain.com & ns2.maindomain.com). I have 2 IP address for my sever so each one points to a unique IP:

    ns1.maindomain.com => 198.x.x.204
    ns2.maindomain.com => 198.x.x.205

    I also set up reverse DNS with my hosting provider.

    When I put in my two nameservers under another domain (secondary domain), GoDaddy states that the nameservers are invalid. Any ideas on why this is or any configurations in cPanel that need to be made?

    Thanks for your help in advance!
     
  2. furmanator7

    furmanator7 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After doing some research it was an issue with GoDaddy than the server itself. On the main domain that is the one other domains will point to for it's nameserver, you must set the nameservers in the information in the "Host Summary" box in the lower left corner. So click on “Add” besides “Host Summary” and it will present you another dialog where you can enter your subdomain and the ip address to point to your server. Once you have added your nameservers in Host Summary, then you can click on “Manage” besides “NameServers” and add your nameservers ns1.xxxx.com and ns2.xxxx.com there and Godaddy will happily accept it!!
     
  3. gopkris2005

    gopkris2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I have updated same ip address for two nameservers but same problem after done this method. Godaddy support replied with same tutorials :( Anyone fixed???

     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is how you register your nameservers in Godaddy.
     
Loading...

Share This Page