Setting up email on new host?

RTMc

Registered
Oct 23, 2020
USA
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Apologies for this long-winded question, but I'm new to cPanel and want to make sure my question is clear despite my ignorance of proper terminology.

I'm moving my site from it's current host (old-host) to a new hosting service (new-host). There is one domain (old-domain) hosted on old-host. I've currently setup one domain (new-domain) on new-host, but will be moving old-domain over to new-host when everything is ready. There are hundreds of email accounts hosted on old-domain; these are managed by a procmail script that routes each message received into one of a dozen or so folders on a single default email account. I've currently setup equivalent email accounts on new-domain, and figured out how to route them to a similar set of a dozen or so folders on a default email account using cPanel's Global Email Filters. There is a filter corresponding to each email account which examines the TO field of any received email, and if it begins "[email protected]" routes it to the appropriate folder for that "email-acct". Unfortunately, I found that I had to actually create each and every "email-acct" before the Global Email Filter would be applied to emails addressed to that account, even though the message is not stored in "email-acct". In any case, this has all been setup now and appears to be working. My next task is to move old-domain over to new-host and apply the same technique to routing emails received on that domain into the same collection of folders. But, hopefully, not to have to create a whole new set of email accounts and/or filters for old-domain.

I see a couple of cPanel tools that might allow me to do this, given the details of how they work. I'm hoping that some of you experts on cPanel might be kind enough to answer my questions and/or offer advice on how to proceed.

USE EMAIL DOMAIN FORWARDERS