Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Setting up email properly issue

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Rel82me, Sep 11, 2018.

  1. Rel82me

    Rel82me Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone, I'm pretty sure this has been answered some place and I'm probably missing something pretty obvious. However, I can't seem to setup a pop/smtp client to send and receive through cpanel. I appear to have the correct mx record setting in place at - Removed - and confirmed here:

    mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?

    Any suggestions? Much appreciated.
     
    #1 Rel82me, Sep 11, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 11, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Rel82me,

    Can you verify any specific error messages appear in your email client when attempting to send or receive email?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Rel82me

    Rel82me Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I'm just receiving "Thunderbird Failed to Find Settings for your Email Account"
     
  4. Rel82me

    Rel82me Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    btw - its a new install cPanel. I can't seem to ping mail.example.com, but do have the proper dns records in place and have changed whm settings to "local mail exchanger".
     
    #4 Rel82me, Sep 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 14, 2018
  5. Anupam SG

    Anupam SG Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Which port are you using for SMTP? If you are not able to ping it could be a firewall block. A lot of webhosts(specially Digital Ocean, Vultr) block SMTP ports[25, 465, 587] to avoid originating spam from their servers. You can change the default SMTP port to something other than default ones and give it a try. You will need to change to the new port in Thunderbird too. Alternatively, you can contact your webhosting support and ask them to open these ports for your account.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Rel82me,

    Can you verify your name servers were properly configured and assigned to the domain name? You can use a website such as IntoDNS.com to check. We document how to setup name servers if you want to make sure you performed the correct steps:

    How to Set Up Nameservers in a cPanel Environment - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Rel82me

    Rel82me Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have both SMTP ports 25 and 26 open. That's really strange as I just did an nslookup on mail.removed.tld and received a non-authorative response with the ip address. Can you guy's have a peek at the records associated with this domain name "removed.tld". I'm pretty sure all the necessary records are in place.
     
    #7 Rel82me, Sep 14, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 17, 2018
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,937
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @Rel82me,

    We'll need you to open a support ticket if you'd like us to take a look at a specific domain name on your server. You can post the ticket number here and we'll link this thread to the ticket.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice