Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Setting up first website

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Shelley Marais, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. Shelley Marais

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey y'all. Using cPanel happened as of this morning for me, and I could use a bit of guidance. I've loaded a test site into home/user/test. 1) how do I open the actual files in a front end view to test the site. I can only see where I can open the html file. 2) Where do I allocate the test site a url, or if a url is automatically allocated, where do I pick it up?

    I realise both questions are linked. I'm a digital marketer with html experience by trade, not a techie, but sometimes we have to do... Any assistance would be appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,480
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    home/username/public_html/
    is the same as:
    example.com

    Does that help?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Shelley Marais

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, not really - I didn't load in public_html, because there's an existing site I need to leave up until the new one is beta tested
    I loaded the new one as home/user/test - not in the public_html directory
     
  4. Shelley Marais

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've figured out where the viewer is, but still need to find the actual index url, in order to relink my images, JS etc

    Pic attached of directory
     

    Attached Files:

    #4 Shelley Marais, Jun 5, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2017
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,480
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'll need to move /test/, into /public_html/ for it to be viewable in your browser. So:
    home/username/public_html/test/

    Also you might change the directory named Test, to test. No need for caps on directory names.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Shelley Marais

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So me setting up a subdomain per the attached pic was a waste?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,480
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You didn't mention the subdomain being created in your original post. You can create a Subdomain outside the public_html.

    You might want to remove it, and then recreate from: cPanel > Domains > Subdomains, without the upper case T in Testing though.

    Once you've properly recreated the sub.domain, and made sure it works at testing.example.com then:
    testing.example.com is the same as:
    home/username/public_html/testing/

    Going by your screenshot:
    home/username/public_html/testing/test/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Shelley Marais

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, I changed per the attached and your original comments - I still can't get the url for the test index.html
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,480
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Does example.com open in your browser properly? If yes, then:
    home/username/public_html/Test/index.html
    is:
    example.com/Test/index.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Shelley Marais

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,480
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're running cPanel on ubuntu?

    Seeing at your main domain does work, you might want to check permissions on that test directory, and the index.html you have in it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice