Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Setting up hostname instead of IP address?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Najd, Jun 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Najd

Najd Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

I am kind of new to this VPS thing and i got a server , set it up but i have some problems , onee of my problems is when i open whm i get my explorer to show me up in the address an ip like this xxx.xxx.xx.xx:2087 i understand that but i need to change that , i need to show my domain name instead of this ip for example server1.myserver.com and then again i have another problem which is https , its showing me that this ip is not secure ,how can i solve that ? do i simply install an ssl on this domain myserver.com or do i need an ssl for the server1.myserver.com ?

Thanks in advance

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Najd,

A free and signed SSL certificate for your server's hostname should be applied automatically within a few hours after the initial cPanel installation. You can read more about how this works, and see the full requirements, at:

Free cPanel-signed certificate

Keep in mind you will need to access Web Host Manager using the following link format:

Code:
    https://hostname:2087
    If you enter the IP address in your browser's address bar, a SSL warning will appear because SSL certificates are installed on domain names as opposed to IP addresses.

Thank you.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Najd

Najd Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi and thanks for your reply . Actually the ssl was not applied automatically .

I am using Godaddy VPS Server and i will list what i did exactly :