The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting Up MX In offsite domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Antec, Jun 3, 2009.

1. Antec

Antec Registered

Hello everyone, I'm kinda new to this. I have used cpanel before but as a customer never an owner so bare with my nooby questions lol. The issue I am having is I just had cpanel installed on my centos 5 box and im trying to set everything up but im worried about my main mx and A enteries.

Here is the thing, I have a domain registered with a domain company but i want to have everything forwarded to my new cpanel installation. I want all the emails and sub-domains pointing to my box. I have already setup the nameservers and ips but im not sure what to do with the A-records or mx entries. I plan on having several different accounts hosted under sub-domains of my single domain (if you get what i'm saying) so im not sure what to change or leave as is. I have already sent a test email but i never recieved it in my cpanel account.

Any ideas on how to go about setting this up or is just creating nameservers with my domain registar good enough?

***UPDATE***

I ran nslookup on my server for my domain and this is what shows up:

caclans.com
    Server: 127.0.0.1
    Address: 127.0.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
    caclans.com mail exchanger = 0 caclans.com.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
    caclans.com nameserver = ns2.caclans.com.
    caclans.com nameserver = ns1.caclans.com.
    caclans.com internet address = 64.186.128.233
    ns1.caclans.com internet address = 64.186.128.233
    ns2.caclans.com internet address = 64.186.128.106

#1 Antec, Jun 3, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  2. chinmay

chinmay Well-Known Member

Hi there,