The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up my Static Ip Addresses from ISP behind NAT

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by souleater7, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. souleater7

    souleater7 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, i have just received my Static IP addresses from my ISP

    They are as follows
    79.77.xx.xx
    79.77.xx.xx (Router Main)
    79.77.xx.xx
    79.77.xx.xx

    My question is how do i set this up in cPanel, when i installed cPanel it found 79.77.41.93 and also found i was behind a nat router, but it didn't find my other IP addresses.

    I went to add a ip address and it said i needed to add local ip addresses and then assign them my public ip addresses, fair enough

    my server ip is 192.168.1.7

    so i added 192.168.1.8-10

    Then i tried to assign my remaining public IP addresses to the IP addresses i just added, this did not work, Now i cannot remove them from my cpanel as the delete button is missing,

    I tried to see if they were in /etc/ips but they were not.

    I'm currently re-installing cPanel as I've been at it all night and just cant remove them or setup my other ip addresses, can anybody tell me how to configure this correctly so i can have my 4 Static ip Addresses from my ISP setup in cPanel.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Peter
     
    #1 souleater7, Feb 10, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2014
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Here's the documentation on 1:1 NAT:

    1:1 NAT


    Usually when you're not able to remove IPs through WHM due to the Delete button missing, it's because cPanel thinks the IP is either already assigned, or is added as a 'physical' interface instead of an alias. For example, em1 (default interface on CentOS 6) is the main interface and cannot be removed through WHM. However, any IPs you add through WHM are added as aliases, ie em1:cp0, em1:cp1, etc and can be removed if they are not assigned. You can view IP assignments in WHM as well.
     
  3. souleater7

    souleater7 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you so much for your response, off the command i'm only getting one IP, do i need to do anything to make the static IP's discoverable on my network?

    Peter
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can restart the "ipaliases" service if the IP addresses are already configured on the server. EX:

    Code:
    service ipaliases restart
    Thank you.
     
  5. souleater7

    souleater7 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, it seems my solution was quite simple, i setup my server with a local ip address when i should have given it one of the static ip address (any but the main), this resulted in my cpanel not being behind a Nat.

    to do this i run the following command

    system-config-network

    I then had to delete my nat by the following command

    rm /var/cpanel/cpnat

    It then fixed all my problems, i could add my ip addresses no problem, its all working

    although i had to run

    service ipaliases restart

    this morning as only 1 ip was showing, strange.


    Also the NAT 1:1 documentation has been removed (it was live this morning but now shows page not available)

    All Fixed.

    Thank you
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,465
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  7. souleater7

    souleater7 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Every day my extra IP addresses seem to go missing from show IP (and the sites on the IP addresses stop working)

    the only way to get them to reappear is for me to run the following command

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/ipaliases restart

    Then they instantly become available in show ip addresses and the websites are accessible again, any ideas whats causing this?

    Peter
     
  8. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please type:

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    
    And supply the output. Feel free to mask the real IP addresses if you wish.
     
  9. souleater7

    souleater7 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's been ok for the last hour, i seemed to have some old local ip addresses in the etc/ips file, i've removed them now, hopefully this will stop the need for restart, here is the info you requested.



    root@server [~]# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 38:EA:A7:AB:EF:14
    inet addr:79.xx.41.xx Bcast:79.77.41.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::3aea:a7ff:feab:ef14/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:13941 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:13113 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:2453504 (2.3 MiB) TX bytes:8370322 (7.9 MiB)
    Interrupt:18

    eth0:cp1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 38:EA:A7:AB:EF:14
    inet addr:79.xx.41.xx Bcast:79.77.41.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Interrupt:18

    eth0:cp2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 38:EA:A7:AB:EF:14
    inet addr:79.xx.41.xx Bcast:79.77.41.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Interrupt:18

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:12688 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:12688 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4202667 (4.0 MiB) TX bytes:4202667 (4.0 MiB)
     
Loading...

Share This Page