The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting Up Resellers...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Aerosmith, May 23, 2003.

  1. Aerosmith

    Aerosmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    OK I am being stupid here and I need help! I have a dedicated server running CPanel. I want to set up an account as a reseller. I want to grant this guy (for example) 3000MB Disk Space and 25000MB Bandwidth. I want him to be able to create accounts all he wants as long as between his personal site and those he creates he stays within those specs. problem is taht when I set him up and then he goes into his control panel in the Create New Account section he sees something like this...

    Resorce Max Used Remaining
    Disk Space 3000MB 109 2891
    OVERSELLING

    Bandwidth 25000MB 275 24725
    OVERSELLING


    I have no idea what this 'overselling' is but know when I had a reseller account that it was never there. What is it? Is it of any concern? How do I prevent it? Why am I such a DFU?

    Thanks...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You can enable or disable overselling in the reseller center. Go to your WHM reseller center and choose "Edit Reseller Privileges/Nameservers". You'll see the option of enabling or disabling both.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Aerosmith

    Aerosmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    I see no such option at all. This is all that is listed...


    Please select which features pc0 should have access to:
    Allow Creation of Packages with Unlimited Diskspace (new)
    Allow Creation of Packages with Unlimited Features (ie. unlimited pop accounts) (new)
    Allow Package Edits (new)
    Account Creation
    Account Modification (warning: this will allow circumvention of account creation limits, give shell access, dedicated ips, etc)
    Account Suspension
    Account Termination
    Account Upgrades
    Add Domains
    Add/Remove Packages
    All Features (warning: root access)
    Allow Creation of Packages with Shell Access
    Allow Creation of Packages with a Dedicated IP
    Allow creation of packages with Addon Domains
    Allow creation of packages with Parked Domains
    Bandwidth Limiting
    Clustering
    Delete Domains
    Disallow creation of accounts with packages that are not global or not owned by this user
    Edit DNS Entries (warning: this will allow access to all zones)
    Edit MX Entries
    Enabling/Disabling FrontPage Extensions
    Enabling/Disabling SSL Support
    Enabling/Disabling SubDomains
    List Accounts
    Mail Trouble Shooter
    Never allow creation of accounts with shell access
    News Modification
    Park Domain
    Password Modification
    Quota Modification
    Rearrange Accounts (used to free up disk space)
    Reset Shopping Cart
    Restart Services
    Resync Ftp Passwords
    Turn an account into a demo account
    View Account Bandwidth Usage
    View Account Statistics
    View Server Status

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You don't see something like:

    [​IMG]


    just a little above what you listed?

    If not, you must be using a reseller account yourself, or you have an older version of WHM. It's been in mine for a while now.

    Are you accessing WHM as root? What version of WHM are you on?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Aerosmith

    Aerosmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    DOH! I did not see the text above the check boxes! The way the paragraph above it read at first blush looked like it said to chek those if you wanted to limit the resouces. I am a bit dyslexic (seriously) and when I have to scroll through a few screens worth of data it gets all jumbled up on me. In fact I wish there was an iconized version of WHM like the Blue Lagoon version of CPanel. I would most likely chip in a few bucks for that.

    Thanks...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Aerosmith

    Aerosmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    HEY! I just noticed why I didnt see this... I am using the BLUE WHM theme and in that version the words OVERSELLING ALLOWED are grey on grey! There is nothing there until I highlite the section of the table where it is and then I can read it! So damn I was not going but so stupid after all! Next round of updates a quick fix here would be a good thing!


    :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    He must be on root cause he has got a list of all the things in the reseller centre he can see! and he said he has a dedicated server :p

    Overselling is where a reseller can assign as much Quota and bandwidth to the accounts he creates as he like, as long as the actual limits dont exceed the amount you specified.

    If you turn overselling off then a reseller can only split up and assign the limited resources your assigned him between his accounts, in other words he cant give a customer more than he has got himself.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That would make it hard to notice. That's one reason I use my own themes. I like being the one who decided what things will look like. :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Aerosmith

    Aerosmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Earth
    One last question. I create a user and assign him a package that allow 3000MB disk space and 25000MB bandwidth. Then I grant him reseller and as a reseller I limit the resources (disk space and bandwidth) to say 2000MB disk space and 20000MB band width. Are the resources I grant him as reseller in ADDITION TO his allocation in his package or an ALLOCATION OF those resources granted by his package? (In other words does he still only have 3000/25000 under his control or does he now have 5000/45000?)


    Thanks
    ^A^

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You got a point there. ;)

    I just couldn't think of any other reason why he wouldn't have those options.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Not sure.

    What I do is what someone else recommended a while back. I set up the reseller with a bogus domain, like reseller.mydomain.com with no space or bandwidth and let him create his own main hosting account. That gives him the ability to adjust his main account if he needs to, and it means the limit set is for his main account and any others.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    Good Point Aerosmith :cool:

    I have experience that Reseller will have 5000/45000. I don't know how to give Reseller allocation only 2000/20000. Maybe anyone knows how to do it ?

    I search on this forum but i never find step by step Reseller Creation Account.

    I know about :
    1. Create Reseller Package (say 2000/20000)
    2. Create new account using Reseller Package
    3. Add Reseller Privilege to this account
    4. Limit Accounts that can create by Resource Usage
    Disk Space 2000 Megabytes
    Bandwidth 20000 Megabytes
    5. etc ....

    Using above method will give my Reseller 2000/20000 to his main account to use for and 2000/20000 to use for create a new account. So total allocation that Reseller can use = 4000/40000.

    Please anyone with knowledge to help us here
    :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page