The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up Smart Host for an account?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tseabaugh, Jun 19, 2006.

  1. tseabaugh

    tseabaugh Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a customer that wants to route their outbound cpanel mail through a smart host. I cannot find any documentation on where I would give cpanel (or WHM) the smart host domain name for this hosted customer. Anyone know?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    change mx records to poin to smart host
     
  3. tseabaugh

    tseabaugh Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was not clear

    It is OUTBOUND mail that they want to run through a smart host, not inbound. Is there a location where I can tell email just for this one account to transfer from the cpanel server to the OUTBOUND smart host for routing?
     
  4. bmcgrail

    bmcgrail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is not a common request and I'm not sure why they would want to do that. You are talking about creating custom routers in Exim.

    See if they can just use the 'smart host' as their outbound SMTP server in their client email program bypassing your server for outbound email all together.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
Loading...

Share This Page