The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up web site with WHM/CPanel

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by SecondSight, Oct 11, 2008.

  1. SecondSight

    SecondSight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello ! :)

    I'm new to WHM/CPanel and I'm reading articles about it (but I don't always know what to search for...).

    I would like to know the different steps to set up web sites (CMS + databases) with WHM/CPanel.

    Could someone explain this to me ?

    Thank you ! :)
     
  2. palgrave

    palgrave Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Me too. I have been using shared hosting up to now, and was happy enough using cPanel and various other control panels that come with shared hosting.

    Now I have got VPS that comes with WHM and cPanel together.

    WHM is way over my head, and the cPanel section of it bears no resemblance to the shared hosting cPanel (apart from the logo!)

    Where, for example do I sort out FTP access? What about password protected directories? Where's phpmyadmin?

    I just don't get it!
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The cPanel section is the same on a VPS as on a dedicated server. Perhaps your previous provider was using a custom cPanel theme.

    FTP Access: Go to the "Files" section and click "FTP Accounts"
    Password Protected Directories: Go to the "Security" section and click "Password Protect Directories"
    phpMyAdmin: Go to the "Databases" section and click phpMyAdmin.

    If you are not seeing any of this, please verify you are logging into the cPanel interface.

    You can login by going to: example.com/cpanel (replacing example.com for any domain pointing to that server) or http://IP:2082 where IP is the IP address for your server.
     
  4. palgrave

    palgrave Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There's a cPanel icon in WHM, but when I click it I get icons for:

    Addon scripts (deprecated)
    Branding
    Enable/Disable Outlook AutoConfig
    Install cPAddons
    Manage Plugins
    Manage cPAddons
    Modify cPanel/WHM News
    Reset a Mailman Password
    Shopping Cart Reset
    Synchronize FTP Passwords
    Upgrade to Latest Version

    I have no idea how to get to the actual cPanel interface you describe, and with which I am familiar.
     
  5. forum17

    forum17 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    Follow these steps once you login to whm
    WHM >> Account Information >> List Accounts >> on this page at the top on right hand side you will find "Quick Domain Search" >> enter your main cpanel domain name here hit enter. Then below cPanel column click on cPanel icon. and you logged in to cPanel of respective domain .

    Regards,
    Angelo S.
    http://midnight-cafe.co.uk
     
  6. palgrave

    palgrave Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You're a genius! Thank you.

    So what's virtuozzo power panel all about?
     
Loading...

Share This Page