The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Settings are not being saved in the CloudLinux LVE Manager

Discussion in 'CloudLinux' started by system-error, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One of the accounts on my server is seeing this error:

    Resource Limit Is Reached
    The website is temporarily unable to service your request as it exceeded resource limit. Please try again later.


    So to fix this I want to increase resources, but I am having problems doing this.

    In the CloudLinux LVE Manager, when I try to Edit Default Settings to, for example, change CPU to 20000 (from 10000) and Mem to 2GB (from 1GB) and Number of Concurrent Connections to 50 (from 20), I click "save" but nothing appears changed. It seems the settings revert to default even if I reboot the server.

    The same thing happens when I try "Edit Settings For Specific LVE". It also reverts to the default and the "save" seems to not work.
     
  2. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    By the way, here si my server config:

    Linux nttfr.server.com 2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Sun Sep 27 06:34:10 EDT 2015 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
     
  3. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry to bang on this thread, but I'm finding more info as I do more research ;)

    I see this info here:
    CloudLinux Documentation

    But the screenshots from that page above are very different from the LVE Manager I have on my cPanel.

    Here is a screenshot of what I see. Could the difference between what I have installed and what the link above shows be a clue to why I am unable to do any changes on my machine?

    Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 4.27.24 PM.png
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Code:
    kmod-iolimits-2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.x86_64-0.1-194.el6.x86_64
    kernel-devel-2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.x86_64
    lve-1.3-1.10.el6.cloudlinux.x86_64
    kernel-headers-2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.x86_64
    kmod-iolimits-2.6.32-379.19.1.lve1.2.7.el6.x86_64-0.1-42.el6.x86_64
    kmod-lve-1.3-63.el6.x86_64
    lve-utils-1.5-2.5.el6.cloudlinux.x86_64
    lve-stats-0.10-49.el6.noarch
    kmod-lve-2.6.32-379.19.1.lve1.2.7.el6.x86_64-1.2-9.el6.x86_64
    kernel-firmware-2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.noarch
    pam_lve-0.3-8.el6.cloudlinux.x86_64
    liblve-devel-1.3-1.10.el6.cloudlinux.x86_64
    lve-wrappers-0.6-9.el6.cloudlinux.x86_64
    liblve-1.3-1.10.el6.cloudlinux.x86_64
    kernel-2.6.32-379.19.1.lve1.2.7.el6.x86_64
    kmod-lve-2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.x86_64-1.3-63.el6.x86_64
    kernel-2.6.32-604.30.3.lve1.3.63.el6.x86_64
    
    Does that output show enough? Pls let me know if I can provide other diagnostic info. I'm pulling my hair out -- I moved this site's account from a CentOS running ISPmanager to this CloudLinux running cPanel/LVE a week ago and have been having all these load issues I never had for many years running the site on the previous install. I know CloudLinux/LVE/cPanel is the better solution, so i think I just have some missing pieces on the server or some settings somewhere awry. Many thanks for your advice~
     
    #5 system-error, Jan 11, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 15, 2016
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your help. I see at the top it says:

    You may need to open a ticket with cPanel Support if you obtained your cPanel & WHM license directly from cPanel, Inc. and experience an issue with your cPanel & WHM installation.
    I am using VPS.net and I already contacted them and they say they can't assist with this issue and suggested I contact you. I've used VPS.net (and their predecessor company) now for about 16 years and our company is a large account with them, so they always go out of their way to assist us. So I know if they say they can't assist, they truly can't assist ;)

    What other options do I have to find a solution? Many thanks
     
  8. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok I managed to make a request. The ID is 7431865.

    Also this happened today and kept me busy. It may be related since it seems things are not being "saved".

    Something happened in the past 12 hours. We did not manually update anything on the server, but all of a sudden error reporting messages are being shown like this:

    Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_USER_AGENT in /home/domain/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wptouch/core/class-wptouch-pro.php on line 2545

    Notice: Undefined index: default_css etc.

    I spent more than 6 hours doing many things, including using a R1Soft backup of some users to overwrite and put back files from yesterday, but the error_reporting persists.

    I did these things:
    error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED & ~E_STRICT

    and also tried this:

    error_reporting = 0

    and I also restarted httpd and I also ran:

    cagefsctl --force-update

    I also reinstalled Apache and PHP 3 times -- each time to a different version. I started ta 5.5.x, then went to 5.4.x and now I am at PHP 5.3.29.

    Still the error_reporting shows on some, but not all websites. In fact, one user account has 2 websites attached to it and both websites are almost identical, with similar WordPress themes, but one shows errors and the other does not. Very very very odd.

    Any ideas what happened and how to hide all errors -- I understand 30000% I need to ultimately fix those PHP Notices, but first I want to hide the notices -- all of them.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Updating all scripts and any addons used on that site is a good way to do that. I've looked at your ticket and the sites with the errors. The problem I see there on your site seems to be related to an out of date plugin you're using for a news feed, if I was to guess.

    You should be looking for support with that issue, over at wordpress.org or with the author of your addon.
     
  10. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yup yup, definitely,will do that. And that will solve the problems with the plugins, but not with the PHP, which appears to not be responding to error_reporting parameters. I saved them from via EasyApache inside cPanel and also manually, but they don't "stick". Any idea why those are not working?
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I don't think stick is the best term to use, but, sure they do.

    What happens if you add this to your wordpress config:
    Code:
    ini_set('error_reporting',E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_STRICT & ~E_DEPRECATED & ~E_WARNING);
    That's taken from a random wordpress plugin support issue on wordpress.org, note the difference from the one you posted above.

    No clue if that'll help, but give it ago.
     
  12. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, thanks for your help -- I appreciate it. I tried htaccess changes, wp-config changes, and also adding user-only php.ini files today and all do not work. I tried again with what you sent too and it doesn't remove the warnings. All very odd.

    On another front.... CloudLinux responded to my support request and told me to run:
    yum install lvemanager

    That solved the initial issue here of a) the LVE Manager out-of-the-box is not like the LVE Manager on the CloudLinux site; and b) The default LVE Manager did not allow saving of info, but this new, better version does. Solve :) Easy.

    Now I just need to continue finding a solution why PHP is screwy ;)
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, you might want to speak with the author of the plugin for fastest resolution. I think the problem is there.
     
  14. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you are very right. Keeping plugins and their related code is very important. And I'm working now on fixing those problems myself. Absolutely.

    But I am also seeing problems with just normal commented PHP. Such as something like this is throwing NOTICE errors:

    <?php// the_content(); ?>

    The above is not a deprecated PHP code in WordPress -- it is a core piece of WordPress unrelated to plugins, but it's throwing Notice errors for some reasons too. if I delete that code, notice goes away. Here is the errror I see for that:

    Notice: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' in /home/domain/public_html/wp-content/themes/themename/single.php on line 26

    So seems like something else is going on with just "normal" PHP unrelated to plugins.

    I also see Notices like this:

    Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_USER_AGENT in /home/domain/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wptouch/core/class-wptouch-pro.php on line 2545


    That refers to the WPtouch plugin, which was just updated a couple weeks ago and is used by *thousands* of sites and there are no reported issues of the type I see -- again, all these errors appeared about 18 hours ago.

    Thanks again for your advice and thoughts.
     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Function Reference/the content « WordPress Codex

    The easiest way to troubleshoot this might be to set your wordpress site to a default, up to date, wordpress style and disable that plugin. If you don't notice any errors, your style, or that plugin which I guess has something to do with your style has some sort of issue. Neither of which are a problem with your cPanel.

    Looking at your site again just now, and the source code at bottom, I see you've got a cache enabled. You might try disabling that to troubleshoot as well.

    Looking at the wptouch pro changelog, there's been quite a few updates in the past 2 months or so. Not sure that matters here, but I'd be looking for help there with them on this.

    Looking at the errors on your site concerning post-plugin library, you should remove that plugin and give up on it. According to the authors site, he's ill and hasn't updated it in years.
     
  16. system-error

    system-error Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Look that this link:
    WordPress › Support » Update to 3.4.30 [01/14/2016] broke a bunch

    Solved. That damn plugin caused everything. I did not realize a plugin could turn on debugging throughout an entire install. I was only checking config and function files. Wow. Ok, well I learned something. I figured it was a cPanel/PHP/etc. update, but it was an update for this plugin.

    Thanks for your patience and advice. Pls mark this thread solved.
     
    Infopro likes this.
  17. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
Loading...

Share This Page