Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Settings for ExtraCPUs

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by HostedPro, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. HostedPro

    HostedPro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    East Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently came across a need for the extracpus in Tweak Settings, never had to use it in 10+ years of cPanel use.

    This one VPS I have has 3 available E5620 processors @ 2.40GHz, all quad core. The server is seeing high CPU loads recently & now wondering about the setting.

    How is extracpus helpful? Do I account for the 12 cores available in the settings? Is it only for stats & logging, as a "feel good" setting? Just looking for a better explaination & wondering if it helps stave off a crash so I can kill processes to avoid a bad situation.

    Thanks much
    Karl
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    The option description helps explain the purpose of this option:

    The load average above the number of CPUs at which cpuwatch, cpanellogd, backups, and CPU stats consider the system to be in a critical load state. For example, a server with 4 physical CPUs and a value of 2 in this field will be considered “critical” in these cases once the load reaches 6.

    When the server is in a critical load state, those processes will pause and only continue when the load goes back down.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. HostedPro

    HostedPro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    East Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the answer Michael, that somewhat clears it up for me. Still not clear on recommendations though. It appears from the example that a number 1/2 of the actual CPUs is "standard"? Would it be out of the question to enter 3, 6 or 9 for a 3 CPU VPS or is it a try & test kinda thing?

    Thanks
    Karl
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, "1" or "2" are typical entries. You are welcome to increase this value if your server operates normally under higher loads.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. HostedPro

    HostedPro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    East Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    OK, thanks Michael
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice