The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setup Enquiry

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Shuriken1, Apr 8, 2005.

1. Shuriken1

Shuriken1 Member

Apologies if this topic has been covered before (am happy with referral links :)) but I would like some assistance.

I'm new to CPanel hosting but I am planning a setup which requires complete confidence in the backup systems. My current plan is to have a primary server running on an ip (eg 1.1.1.1) and a backup running on a different ip (eg 1.1.1.10) which is backed up from the primary server frequently. Then, in the event of the primary crashing I will be able to change the backup to 1.1.1.1 and that can serve whilst I fix the main server.

Now, the confusion begins with CPanel, I plan to have cpanel on both the primary and backup with their own licenses (let me know if I can share one somehow). So I will have something like this:

Primary Backup
    1.1.1.1 1.1.1.10
    license 1 license 2

The idea is, as I have mentioned, is that the backup server can replace the main by me switching the backup's ip to 1.1.1.1. Will cpanel still function in this situation? My thinking is that when the backup server goes to auth cpanel on the main ip, cpanel will expect 'license 1' but actually receive 'license 2' thus being invalid and being denied. Is this correct or am I thinking about it wrongly? If this is correct, how can I ensure Cpanel continues to function whilst the backup server is on the primary ip (1.1.1.1)?

I hope I have made myself clear, thanks in advance.

Shuriken.

2. haze

haze Well-Known Member