The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Several Errors Shows After reinstall

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by taal, May 13, 2005.

  1. taal

    taal Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Everytime I go into WHM I get a popup error of Hostname A Entry Missing!
    The server was unable to lookup an an A entry for its hostname (irc.taals-shellz.net). This is generally because the entry was never added. However this could also be the result of your nameserver(s) being down. If you would like to attempt to automaticlly add the entry, .

    I click the automatically add the A entry, and it brings up the right information but when i click OK to add the A entry I get the error Adding an A entry for irc.taals-shellz.net

    IP=66.90.118.125 Bind reloading on irc using rndc zone: [taals-shellz.net] Error reloading bind on irc: rndc: connect failed: connection refused Add Complete each time. I know I have added the correct hostname and dns ip's Seems like a problem in the rndc bind? It also shows the rndc error each time i make an account with whm

    Also when I click on server status the exim is flashing red. I can restart exim and it says it starts ok, but when i look it's still red. No mail pop servers work either. Any ideas as to what the problem is. I had to have the OS resinstalled 3 days ago (Fedora)mand been getting these errors everysince. To my knowledge I have set the new box up the same way i had old set up. There has got to be a fix for these problems somewhere, but I'm definately not a linux guru. This problem is causing none of my accounts to /dns on irc. Any advice and help would sure be appreciated
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    SSH to your server and issue these commands:
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixnamed
    service named start

    in that order.

    If that doesn't help, search the thread, and if none works, you need to hire a sys admin.

    Good luck!
     
  3. taal

    taal Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Several Errors Show After Reinstall

    Hi, thanks for the reply

    I did as you instructed and it says this:
    root@irc [~]# /scripts/fixndc
    Fixndc using rh9/rhes3/fedora support
    Found key in named.conf ..
    Found controls in named.conf ..
    named.conf has already been fixed!
    root@irc [~]# /scripts/fixnamed
    root@irc [~]# service named start
    named: already runningroot@irc [~]#

    Problem is still there though :( It has whipped me on this one :(
     
  4. taal

    taal Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    problem solved, thanks everyone for the help
     
  5. project3

    project3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You know instead of saying problem solved you are supposed to give the solution.
    I would love to know how to fix this, thanks for sharing!
     
  6. taal

    taal Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry I have been in and out of hospitals having many operations and just now felt up to getting back on. To fix the problem you:pico /etc/named.conf
    Near the top of that file there are two entries that say rndc-key or rndckey
    find the one with a dash and remove the dash so it's all one word then....
    service named restart
    That should fix the problem

    If not: If you are using Fedora you should also pico /etc/sysconfig/named and comment out the 'ROOTDIR=' (put a # in front of it)

    Hope this helps someone
     
  7. bengji

    bengji Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i tried removing the dash btw rndc & key

    it didnt work it gave me an error connection and it still shows missing hostname entry evrytime i log in..

    but wher do i add the # this is how my /etc/sysconfig/named looks ROOTDIR="/some/where" wher should i put #

    thanks
     
  8. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Comment the complete line. Put # at the start of the line.
    #ROOTDIR="/some/where"

    Save the file and restart named.
     
Loading...

Share This Page