The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Several urgent questions.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by egore24uare7, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. egore24uare7

    egore24uare7 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    1. If I have a server and an I.P, how do I login into FTP into that server using the i.p or host name as it always fails.

    2. A client of mine generated a full backup from his old host and sent it to me, I have upload it in tar.gz and in WHM it doesn't show up..What's wrong?

    3. Could someone find a good guide on server managment.etc
     
  2. egore24uare7

    egore24uare7 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In SmartFTP the pass is always wrong?! I use the root pass..
     
  3. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    1) To logon to the server using its IP, you simply type ftp://IP (example ftp://192.168.1.1). If you are using an FTP program, you simply type the IP as the domain name

    2) You want to make sure you upload the tar.gz in the /home folder and in root WHM go under Backup > Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file and read the directions on that screen.

    3) I recommend that you hire a server mangement company like (http://www.eastsolid.com/?x=management) as not every tutorial in the world beats a live person.

    As for a few helpful websites you can try out http://www.hostgeekz.com/ and http://www.webhostgear.com/

    From,
    Adam
     
  4. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    You can't logon to FTP using the username root and root's password. No one can. Its not setup that way. You need to use SSH to do that.

    From,
    Adam
     
  5. anushkumar

    anushkumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello egore,

    If you need a complete server management as onetime deal, PM me. Will get back to ya.

    Also, Guarenteed server optimization and security measures..


    Anush
     
  6. elliotcooper

    elliotcooper Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    A quick note, if you want a piece of software that will give you FTP like functionality (and more) and allow you to log in as root take a look at WinSCP:

    http://winscp.net/eng/index.php
     
  7. sflyer

    sflyer Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #7 sflyer, Nov 14, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page