The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Severe server problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Drewley, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. Drewley

    Drewley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well.. heres the story..

    about a week ago i got my shiny new dedicated server, installed cpanel 11, but i couldn't access any sites? :O

    i was advised that my BIND was broken, and someone very kindly did some fixes and its been working since then!

    today, i wanted to see if my teamspeak server would actually start at boot time, so i restarted the server.

    well.. heres where it goes downhill, i cannot access any websites, even via ip address..

    whm is up and reports all services are OK, when i ping the server i get a reply.

    im thinking maybe this is a bind issue?

    would anyone be kind enough to help me? as you can tell im very new at this!

    thanks in advance!
     
    #1 Drewley, Jul 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2007
  2. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm

    it might be worth checking that your resolver configuration ip's are correct too....

    they're the ip's of the datacentre... if your unsure which ones should go in the resolver config on the left had menu.....email your server provider to ask them

    this can be caused by using the wrong resolver ip's ;)

    OWM
     
    #2 outlaw web, Jul 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  3. Drewley

    Drewley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    im pretty sure they are correct, but i will double check just in case.

    anyone got any other suggestions?
     
  4. Drewley

    Drewley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    all fixed now!

    it turns out that the ports just needed allowing in the firewall :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page