The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SFTP Login problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nriley, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. nriley

    nriley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having a problem loging in with SFTP. Here is what I did:

    In the FTP Account Maintenance I created a new user. I then try to login via SFTP and keep getting authentication errors.

    If I try to login with the account normally, it works. If I select SFTP I get a Authentication failed error.

    I can login via SFTP with the main cPanel account for the domain, just not any accounts I add. Can anyone provide insight on how to fix this?

    Thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Does the user have shell access?
     
    #2 Infopro, Nov 9, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2007
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AS Infopro suggests, only accounts that have actual SSH access can use SFTP.
     
  4. nriley

    nriley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK That makes sense since I am creating a FTP user. Is there a way through the cpanel interface to create a shell user account? I started looking at the Create New Account screen but it seemed more oriented to crating a new domain on the box.

    I also need to set the user's home directory and restrict them to that dir...
     
  5. closet geek

    closet geek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just use FTP with TLS instead.
     
  6. nriley

    nriley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can't the user requires SFTP. This seriously can't be this hard to do!
     
  7. nriley

    nriley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Go to WHM -> Account Functions -> Modify an Account then select the user or domain of the account you wish to modify, then click Modify. Then on the following page, check the box labeled Shell Access and click Save. Note, this will only give them jailed shell access.

    An alternative way is to go to WHM -> Account Functions -> Manage Shell Access as this gives you control over whether the user has no, jailed or normal shell access.
     
  9. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    This comment is not entirely accurate. The full answer depends on your definition of SFTP and the version of cPanel you are using.

    The acronym SFTP is used for at least two different connection methods:
    * SSH file transfer protocol: Since cPanel 11, this does not require shell access. FileZilla is an example of a client that supports SFTP.
    * FTP over SSH (sometimes referred to as Secure FTP): This method does require shell access (I think due to its use of/similarity to scp). An example of a client that uses this protocol is WinSCP.

    My recommendation is to keep shell access disabled (unless needed of course) and use a client such as FileZilla that supports SSH file transfer protocol.
     
  10. nriley

    nriley Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I manually created a user like I should of from the start and its fine. Thanks for the replay guys. I have a much bigger problem now whenever the server gets rebooted the iptables are reverting to the default settings causing nobody to be able to access the box. Bleh!
     
Loading...

Share This Page