The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sh: lsof: command not found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BillyS, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. BillyS

    BillyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We upgraded from 11.36.1.8 to 11.38.0.15 yesterday. Last night, we received the following message:

    Cron <root@host​> /usr/local​/lp/apps/s​ecurity/cr​onwrapper.​sh

    sh: lsof: command not found

    Is this expected as part of the upgrade?

    Bill
     
  2. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I wouldn't think the upgrade would remove lsof (at least it didn't in any case I've seen). Is the lsof rpm currently installed on your system? / does /var/log/yum.log show it as being removed via yum itself?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Can you confirm if the "lsof" command is working properly when you use it manually while logged in as "root"? If so, could you check the script and see if it's entering the shell as another user?

    Thank you.
     
  4. BillyS

    BillyS Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got lazy on this one, couldn't find a reference to this problem anywhere... Contacted my host and they posted this as the fix:

    They came back with this pretty quickly, almost like they know about the problem... any insights as to why this worked?

    Bill
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends on what line they modified to resolve the issue. It's possible that third-party application released an update to work with newer versions of cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page