Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Shared hosting setup

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by mhbernheim, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. mhbernheim

    mhbernheim Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Managua
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Guys, ill try to explain myself as simply as possible, we have 3 servers that are no longer going to be put to use, so we decided to set them up for shared hosting, they are running whm... our main website, is also running on a whm centos server.

    the 3 servers are

    alex.example.com
    riley.example.com
    paige.example.com

    we have example.com running as an account on another server with WHM as well, when setting up alex, riley and paige, we get asked for nameservers for these servers, do we need to create the NS entries in example.com.db zone file (ns1alex.example.com, ns2alex.example.com, ns1riley.example.com, ns2riley.example.com, ns1paige.example.com, ns2paige.example.com) so that each server has its own nameserver so that customers can simply POINT to those nameservers with their registrar to start using their accounts or am I missing something here? thanks!!!!!
     
    #1 mhbernheim, Nov 29, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2018
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mhbernheim
    You'd need to create an A record for each of the proposed nameservers on the server where DNS is hosted for example.com. The rest would be handled on each of the servers where the nameservers points to. You might want to look at DNS clustering as well Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mhbernheim

    mhbernheim Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Managua
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks so much for jumping in,

    I've tried this out actually, on example.com.db zone file theres this

    ns1secondserver 14000 IN A x.x.x.1
    ns2secondserver 14400 IN A x.x.x.2

    on secondserver.com godaddy nameserver selection, i set them to ns1secondserver.example.com and ns2secondserver.example.com, godaddy wont take them and apparently wont recognize them as proper name servers.

    on secondserver.example.com x.x.x.1 and x.x.x.2 are properly configured as ns1secondserver and ns2secondserver respectively... thoughts?
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mhbernheim

    mhbernheim Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Managua
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, I have done this... ns1secondserver.example.com and ns2secondserver.example.com, ive pointed them to the second cpanel server's nameserver ip's and created a records for both nameservers on the second cpanel server and on the example.com.db zone file... when changing any domains nameservers to point to ns1secondserver.example.com and ns2secondserver.example.com it wont load.
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mhbernheim

    Can you confirm that you also created the namservers in WHM>>Server Configuration>>Basic WebHost Manager Setup
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mhbernheim

    mhbernheim Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Managua
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @cpLauren
    Our service provider had not provisioned the correct ip's, we noticed this when trying to nmap all IP's on the shared hosting server, it is now working as it should... thanks again for your help!
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,734
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mhbernheim


    That would explain it! I'm glad you guys got it sorted out and thanks for the update.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice