The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shared IP Question ...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bsamson, Oct 31, 2004.

1. bsamson

bsamson Active Member

Hello all! I am fairly new to cPanel & WHM. I currently am leasing a dedicated server, and it was setup last night. My Question is this:

The main shared IP is, let's say: xx.xx.xx.01

I setup all client accounts using the shared IP, including my own initially.

Now, in WHM I just changed my sites IP. I want my site to have a dedicated IP for various reasons.

I understand it takes time to propagate, but just out of curiousity, I went to mydomain.com.

It displays one of my client websites! I would rather it display a page cannot be found error, then showing one of my client websites.

Now, the question:

Why does cPanel do this? And how do I fix it.

One my last cPanel server, if you changed a sites IP it would simply timeout if a user attempted to access the page prior to properly propagating.

On the last cPanel server, if you were to reference the main shared IP via a browser, it would display, "No address configured for this address" or something similiar.

How do I get this thing fixed??? Please any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks for any assistance,
    BRian

2. Hoza

Hoza Member

If I understand this correctly, and I know I'm a little late on this post, but figured it could be answered anyway (I'm searching for another answer)...