The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shifting from one server to another

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by vanzist, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. vanzist

    vanzist Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    I am new here and was looking for a solution so that I can shift all my data from one server to another..

    I have taken the full backup and also uploaded into the home directory for new server....

    Now what's next..? And on my new server I created few addon domains...should I delete them before i restore it into the new server..

    Please guide me..

    than

    van
     
  2. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you already uploaded the backups of the sites to the new server then all you have to do is restore them. You can do this in the WHM restore backup section.

    You can leave the other domains you have already created as long as they are not domains that are in the backups. If they are, then you need to remove them to allow them to be restored or do a forceful restore.
     
  3. vanzist

    vanzist Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    re

    How I can do WHM restore backup - I am not getting this point..where is that option in cpanel...

    and how to do a forceful restore - pls guide me

    thanks in advance
     
  4. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can restore the backup through WHM >> Main*>>*Backup*>>*Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

    Also, you can do a forceful restore via SSH using the following :

    Code:
     # /scripts/restorepkg --force username
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking at this thread, it sounds more like you may be trying to setup
    a copy of the accounts on the new server and moving the data ...

    That is not necessary with Cpanel!

    You can actually have Cpanel transfer the entire account from one server
    to another in one single move and have it automatically create the account
    on the new server and transfer all data and settings in the process and
    this can be done either through WHM or the command line.

    The last poster told you how to restore a backup / cpmove file from the
    command line using the 'restorepkg' command.

    If you don't already have a Cpanel generated transfer file of your site,
    you can use the 'pkgacct' command:
    Code:
    # /scripts/pkgacct  username
    
    (Incidentally look in /home for the archive)

    Or you can ignore all of the above and just use the "Transfers" menu in WHM!

    If you have already created the accounts manually on the new server,
    just delete those and go back and use one of the above options to get
    your accounts transferred to the new server and you will save yourself
    a whole lot of time and a lot of headaches.
     
Loading...

Share This Page