The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I run apache update yet?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by salvatore333, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want to upgrade apache and php according to what my csf firewall (ConfigServer Security & Firewall - csf v2.92) suggests as per below 2 error messages.

    1) Is this stable enough to do this or am I going to be spending hours fixing customers scripts/web sites after this?

    2) Also at the bottom of this post I entered the questions from the apache update page. It;s nice and confusing now. Which one of these do I choose? I run mod_sucurity, php suexec, openssl. Thanks very much

    I want to end up with apache 2.2 and only php5 I guess.

    CSF error message 1) You are running a legacy version of apache (v1.3.39) and should consider upgrading to v2.2.* as recommended by apache

    CSF error message 2) Support for versions of php under v5 (Current: 4.4.7) stops on 2007-12-31, you should exclusively upgrade to php v5


    My Versions) WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-C18033
    REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0


    APACHE UPDATE WHM:
    Begin by selecting a profile to load:
    Previously Saved Config (** DEFAULT **) [Hide Info]
    ↑ This option loads the last saved configuration. If the configuration is missing, then default values will be provided.

    [Click here to view details] [Raw] [Download profile] [About Profiles]
    Basic (If your previous build has failed, please use this option) [More Info]
    ↑ This configuration includes a very basic set of Apache and PHP options. Key modules include: mod_access, mod_alias, mod_auth, mod_cgi, mod_env, mod_include, mod_rewrite, mod_suexec, mod_userdir. Key PHP options include: Bcmath, Calendar, Sockets, With Mysql, With Zlib. This build will prevent users from reading each others webroots.

    [Click here to view details] [Raw] [Download profile] [About Profiles]
    No PHP [More Info]
    ↑ This is probably not an option for many web hosts since their users will ask for PHP support for one reason or another. However, if its feasable (or even a seperate hosting product you offer) it will result in better performance and less security issues.

    [Click here to view details] [Raw] [Download profile] [About Profiles]
    PHP Encryption / E-commerce [More Info]
    ↑ This uses the Basic configuration and adds the mcrypt encryption library to PHP. This library is often used for encryption for e-commerce.

    [Click here to view details] [Raw] [Download profile] [About Profiles]
    PHP Encryption and Image Manipulation [More Info]
    ↑ Basic and adds mcrypt, GD and FreeType to PHP along with the Basic configuration options.

    [Click here to view details] [Raw] [Download profile] [About Profiles]
    PHP Image Manipulation [More Info]
    ↑ This uses the Basic configuration and adds the GD and FreeType libraries to PHP. GD and FreeType are used for image and font manipulation.

    [Click here to view details] [Raw] [Download profile] [About Profiles]
    PHP Security [More Info]
    ↑ This is the same as the Basic configuration with the addition of Mod suPHP for added security measures and tracking for PHP scripts. See http://www.suphp.org for more information about suPHP.

    BUILD PROFILE NOW OR START CUSTOMIZING BASED ON PROFILE
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Leave the default option selected and click "Start Customizing Based on Profile" after which you will be prompted for which PHP version you wish to use, Apache version and which PHP/Apache modules you wish to use.

    PhpSuExec is no longer supported with EA3, use SuPHP instead.
     
  3. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you very much David for your response. Can you please answer this question please?

    Is this stable enough to do this or am I going to be spending hours fixing customers scripts/web sites after this?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is stable and production worthy. Personally, I haven't had any issues with it since it was in EDGE.

    Just remember that if you upgrade PHP to PHP 5, scripts that are incompatible to PHP 5 may stop working. In such a scenario, you may want to install both PHP 4 and 5 using EasyApache so those older scripts can be renamed to have an extension of .php4 until they can be retooled for PHP 5. PHP 4 will reach EOL on 8/8/08.
     
  5. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I was going to update so I hit apache update in WHM.

    Now it just freezes at: "Making sure we have the latest files"

    I tried another server of mine and the same thing. Guess I'll be waiting for awhile on this.
     
  6. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm having these same symptoms as well. I opened a ticket with cpanel - 225214, so I guess we'll see what they say.
     
  7. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh great noimad1, please let me know their response. Thank allot.
     
  8. elmister

    elmister Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same is happening to me

    Tried the following:

    /scripts/upcp --force
    and reinstalled perl

    but none of this solved the problem

    I discovered that /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel should contain perl modules that belong to Apache Update, but the directory is empty and i have no clue about how to install the missing files (layer2 didn't neither perlinstaller)

    I'll keep an eye on this thread and update it if i found the way
     
  9. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After the cpanel tech took a look at things and tested some things out he gave me this response:

    I told him it's been happening to me for 3-4 hours so far, so I asked him if this generally takes this long on their upgrades. I told him I was going to try again tomorrow as well.

    I guess we'll see what happens.
     
  10. nzpli

    nzpli Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nelson NZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    working for me now - must have been some sort of connection problem
     
  11. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Yup, me too. They told me they were having trouble with that server.
     
  12. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Worked for me too today. I went ahead and took the plunge. Now I'm running apache 2.2 and php5.2.4.

    Mod_Security question please:

    In WHM I click on "Mod_Security". Then "Edit Config". There was nothing in there so I clicked on "Default Configuration" and saved that.

    Should I replace that with: http://www.gotroot.com/tiki-index.php?page=mod_security+rules

    and if so what version of Mod_Security did I just install, 1.9 or 2.X ?


    Thanks very much.
     
  13. elmister

    elmister Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Now it works, but yesterday it worked on another server in the same rack, maybe it had the latest version of those files

    anyway, it's working again
     
Loading...

Share This Page