The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.shtml not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fullserve, Jun 13, 2006.

  1. fullserve

    fullserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I recently made some changes to the PHP, but then went back to PHP 5.0.4. However, I just noticed that all .shtml pages on the server do not load.

    In the error log I see:

    [Tue Jun 13 09:42:47 2006] [error] Directory index forbidden by rule: /home/www/site/public_html/

    I thought it is a httpd.conf issue, so I looked at it, and as far as I see everything looks ok:

    HTML:
    
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
    
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php4
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php3
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .phtml
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi .pl
    AddType text/html .shtml
    AddType application/x-tar .tgz
    AddType text/vnd.wap.wml .wml
    AddType image/vnd.wap.wbmp .wbmp
    AddType text/vnd.wap.wmlscript .wmls
    AddType application/vnd.wap.wmlc .wmlc
    AddType application/vnd.wap.wmlscriptc .wmlsc
    
    
        #
        # To use server-parsed HTML files
        #
        #AddType text/html .shtml
    AddHandler server-parsed .shtml
    
    
    Any idea what the problem is and how I can fix it?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What about in the DirectoryIndex listings?

    <IfModule mod_dir.c>
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.shtml ....

    Is index.shtml listed?
     
  3. fullserve

    fullserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, it is:

    HTML:
    <IfModule mod_dir.c>
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.wml index.cgi index.shtml index.jsp index.js index.jp index.php4 index.php3 index.php index.phtml index.htm default.htm default.html home.htm
    </IfModule>
     
  4. fullserve

    fullserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any ideas what might be wrong? I am really puzzled why .shtml does not work on the server...
     
  5. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
  6. fullserve

    fullserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In Firefox it shows a just blank page.

    In IE it says "The page can not be displayed."
     
  7. bmcgrail

    bmcgrail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try adding

    Options +Includes

    to your .htaccess file
     
  8. fullserve

    fullserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried that -- didn't work.

    I have that problem with ALL the sites on the server, not just one. I am totally confused...
     
  9. fullserve

    fullserve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Since I have this problem after the last Apache update, I guess there is a conflict somewhere. Please take a look at the modules I have installed.

    Do you see any potential problems?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. mediast

    mediast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Did you figure out what the problem was (I'm assuming that you did)?

    Nick
     
Loading...

Share This Page