The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shut Down Interchange

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rockster, Aug 14, 2003.

  1. rockster

    rockster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    have interchange turned off in WHM.. hav never had the sever ruinning ,,,,

    it not shows up in WHM...

    how to SHUT DISABLE REMOVE ??

    thanks rock

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Disable in "tweek settings" & uncheck in "service manager"

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. belindaj

    belindaj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have done both of those steps but it still continues to "fail" and "attempt restart automagically".

    Other suggestions to make it go away??

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. belindaj

    belindaj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anybody? Like I said - I have the interchange service turned off in services and also disabled in tweak settings - but it still continues to stop and restart itself HUNDREDS of times in the last 24 hours.

    How do I kill it for good???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. manlius.com

    manlius.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Have you rebooted since disabling the service?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/chkservd stop
    rm -f /etc/chkserv.d/interchange
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/chkservd start

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. belindaj

    belindaj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Many thanks - that appears to have worked.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I also want to shut down Interchange (permanently), I'm 99% certain that no hosting account users have installed it or are actively using it, but before I go ahead and turn it off, how can I double check that I'm not going to negatively affect anyone?

    Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Dacsoft

    Dacsoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    Thanks for the information. This seems to have cured my immediate problem. Now, how do I permanently disable Interchange?

    thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Snowman30

    Snowman30 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Spaceman did you ever figure out how to find out who is using interchange on your server?

    I want to remove it form one of mine but am unsure if anyone activated it or not.
     
  11. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is not some option in WHM to see if users installed it. The best thing I can say is install it yourself then look for a file that has an odd name that interchange installs. Then search your drive for it. Hopefully nobody is using it because interchange is such a pain!
     
Loading...

Share This Page