The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Signup scripts and the forthcoming Nocsoft ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Domenico, Oct 1, 2001.

  1. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    So there is John Doe using cpanel4 and a signup script and everythings works fine with let\'s say 100 signups a day ;-)

    Now, 3am local time nocsoft decide that nocsoft is tested and finished so his hosting provider installs it.

    He decides to sleep till 6 PM in the evening and when he wake up he realizes that his signup script doesn\'t work anymore and he is losing all the signups of that day not to mention he needs to reprogram the sript and stuff.

    Could this be a real scenario or am I just being stupid here?
    How is this going to be resolved?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Dahlia

    Dahlia Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    if you are afraid that this might happen, why not remove the cron job that updates cpanel automatically? only update it when you need to, in other words. this way nothing will change without your knowledge and you can prepare for any problems before-hand. :)

    login as root and type in crontab -e
    remove the line that updates cpanel... you will have to remove that line each time you run the cpanel update since it gets added in there each time the /scripts/upcp runs. this is what we do, it\'s worth the added effort to make sure there aren\'t any damaging bugs in the new builds. ;)
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Dahlia it looks like you clearly flew right over the chicken coop. he didnt ask about a crontab, he asked what would need to be done when he upgrades to cpanel4 and his scripts he paid $XXX to be created..dont work...
     
  4. xnull

    xnull Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ya, but if Cpanel updates and that night NocSoft is released, it might automatically install nocsoft instead of updating.

    So removing the crontab for that job is a possibility ;)
     
  5. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I highly doubt that you will be upgraded automatically without warning if it will overwrite any of those crucial files.

    I don\'t think that Nick would allow that to happen :)
     
  6. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dahlia, [quote:d69fa9ca37]login as root and type in crontab -e
    [/quote:d69fa9ca37]I don\'t have the line that starts the Cpanel update (yet Cpanel gets updated every night :)). This is what get when I type crontab -e:
    58 * * * * /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    15 * * * * /usr/local/bandmin/bandminhtml
    0 0 * * * /usr/local/bandmin/ipaddrmap
    Can you tell me what to change or add to this?
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    the way I see it if you are signing up 100 + accounts a day you should be retired and living on a island by the time NOCsoft is realeased.. I am figuring that 100K accounts is enough for you to retire:)
     
Loading...

Share This Page