The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple newbie question......

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mvd, Mar 10, 2002.

  1. mvd

    mvd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys,
    Is it possible to install cpanel on a server that is offline.....I have a server not connected to the net where I am trying to install cpanel so that I can learn before I get a dedicated.......

    However, it keeps trying to FTP from the cpanel site, and then it just hangs with a waiting message........

    So can it be installed to an offline machine....??

    THanks in advance
     
  2. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    not unless you have a cpanel mirror server sitting on your private network :p

    You will need to be connected to the internet to install it. Even if you manage to get it installed with out being on the internet i dont beleive you will be able to use it because of the licenceing. I'm not sure why it would matter if you where on the net or not. Or... you are tryign to get around the cpanel licencing issue and trying to see if it will work while no connected to the internet and thinging that if it will then you can setup a simple ruleset in your firewall allowing any information sent to cpanel or darkorb or burst that it will drop the packet..... Hmmmmm... I just may be looking too much into this ;)

    Any how i beleive you have to be on the net.
     
  3. mvd

    mvd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey there,
    thanks for the reply.......I figured that I had to be connected........

    and by the way, I am not trying to get around any licencing issues etc......I simply would like to learn how to use it properly before I start paying for it on a commercial basis.......

    cheers
     
  4. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you have a box that is on the net, we can give you a 15 test license for it. Please e-mail beta@cpanel.net with your server's ip if you are interested. Shaun is correct about the fact that you will need to have public net access to use Cpanel/WHM.
     
  5. phlackee

    phlackee Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    About offline

    DO I need all time to have it pluged in on internet or just till I have all things done, bout license. Its because I want to run a game server on local network,on my ISP and just for my clients, and Idont want it to be public because of its destination. So I can add a Public Ip for a month or more. But it will be offline because I dont want to be online. How can I do that...

    Flak
     
    #5 phlackee, Nov 7, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page