The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

single DNS zone for all accounts

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by msd25, May 15, 2009.

  1. msd25

    msd25 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Marysville
    I plan on creating all accounts as separate accounts, even though they will really be treated as a subdomain. I need to do this as each account needs its own user cpanel and I have a custom skeleton directory that copies a fresh copy of the moodle installation files.

    The problem I am running into is that when a new account is created a separate dns zone is also created. I need all accounts to utilize the same DNS zone and have the "sub domain" name created automatically upon creation in this zone.

    Example. Server domain is myserver.com with a DNS zone for myserver.com. I create a new account and call it anything.myserver.com and it creates a DNS zone of anything.myserver.com.

    I need the A name record for anything created in the myserver.com zone automatically.

    Is this possible?
     
  2. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you create the account in WHM, it will create a separate dns zone even if it looks like a subdomain.

    If you create the account in CPanel as a real subdomain, then it will add it to the domain's main dns zone as an A record.
     
  3. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It will automatically create A record entry for a sub domain in WHM DNS zone.
     
  4. msd25

    msd25 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Marysville
    No it does not. It automatically creates a completely seperate DNS zone. I need the new account created in WHM to add the A record to an existing zone. Bu default WHM creates another zone and does not add an A record to anything but the new zone.
     
  5. msd25

    msd25 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Marysville
    I want it to be a completely seperate account. I do not want it to be a subdomain. You are telling me what I already know.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Approaching this situation from a different perspective, why do you need all of these DNS records in only 1 zone?
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Each Zone is owned by an account. Creating entries in a zone file not owned by the account is not allowed.
     
  8. msd25

    msd25 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Marysville
    Sorry it too so long to answer, we are slammed here at work. We are running on a MS domain and if i can get all accounts under one zone then i can do a zone transfer to my MS domain servers and greatly reduce the administrative overhead of managing multiple name servers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page