The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

site not visible using www.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by miami_g, Aug 23, 2002.

  1. miami_g

    miami_g Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    got a client complaining his site is visible by domian name but if you put www. in front of the domain its not visible

    thought he was crazy i tried it and hes correct..

    any ideas?


    thankyou
     
  2. cass

    cass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina/USA/Mexico
    maybe your client is an idiot... ?
    anyway ...
    check your DNS to see if the www cname is on place.
    and check your httpd.conf to see if the www.domain.com is on place too.

    ask a friend or two to try it too...
    if it works for all less the client ...
    send a mail to the client with the correct link with www inclusive ...
    maybe he's misspelling something...

    just my 0.02
     
  3. JustinK

    JustinK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It could just be a propagation issue too if they just recently switched their domain over.
     
  4. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:f21f4d3481][i:f21f4d3481]Originally posted by JustinK[/i:f21f4d3481]

    It could just be a propagation issue too if they just recently switched their domain over.[/quote:f21f4d3481]

    it cant be a propogation issue if his main domain is working just with the domain.com

    something wrong with the DNS Zone only.

    best regards,
    Parag
     
  5. Craig

    Craig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There was a bug not very long back that i submitted that when you created an account with a dedicated ip, the &ServerAlias& field was not placed in the httpd.conf.

    You have to add this line manually.

    ServerAlias www.yourdomain.com yourdomain.com

    HTH

    Craig.
     
  6. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:c2541c38ca][i:c2541c38ca]Originally posted by Craig[/i:c2541c38ca]

    There was a bug not very long back that i submitted that when you created an account with a dedicated ip, the &ServerAlias& field was not placed in the httpd.conf.

    You have to add this line manually.

    ServerAlias www.yourdomain.com yourdomain.com

    HTH

    Craig. [/quote:c2541c38ca]


    hi craig,

    never came across such a problem.. you had with serveralias and dedicated IP

    which build this was happening?

    best regards,
    Parag
     
  7. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:2dedf71e86][i:2dedf71e86]Originally posted by parag[/i:2dedf71e86]

    [quote:2dedf71e86][i:2dedf71e86]Originally posted by JustinK[/i:2dedf71e86]

    It could just be a propagation issue too if they just recently switched their domain over.[/quote:2dedf71e86]

    it cant be a propogation issue if his main domain is working just with the domain.com

    something wrong with the DNS Zone only.

    best regards,
    Parag[/quote:2dedf71e86]

    Actually, it can. www. is technically a subdomain, just like any other, and subs are slower in updating. If the DNS was recently modified, as Justin mentions, it can take a little longer for the domain to show using the prefix than without it.
     
  8. dandanfireman

    dandanfireman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    One other thing to test is to try pinging both

    at a command prompt, type

    ping customerdomain.com

    ping www.customerdomain.com

    Both instances should show that your pc is trying to ping the same numerical address. If they are different, it could either be a zone file problem or possibly that the customer mistaking registered their www.customerdomain.com as a nameserver and that that registration will need to be updated.
     
  9. myros

    myros Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WHM has been doing all kinds of wierd stuff for me recently when adding new account or addon domains, or parked domains. It will leave out the www when its supposed to add it and add it when its not supposed to.

    ie added subdomain me.mydomain.com and checked httpd.conf and it had it listed as www.me.mydomains.com had to manualy edit it to get the sub to work.

    Myros
     
  10. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is usually a DNS issue. The DNS is new and propagation is not finished and/or DNS cache is old on their machine.

    I've seen this more then once this month alone with Windows XP clients. Time will heal but there is one thing they can do that may help immediately.

    Windows XP caches the DNS on their machine, rebooting sometimes helps but I've atually seen the site totally go way after a reboot, because the results were somehow reverted back to their DNS cache while surfing.. Go figure..

    So to clear the cache..

    Type the following in command prompt:

    ipconfig.exe /flushdns


    It works, I've seen it cure this problem immediately!! Twice this month alone..
     
  11. Stormtrooper

    Stormtrooper Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Make sure that the DNS servers listed in the NS record of the DNS Zone File are the proper nameservers for the domain. As well, check the SOA to make sure that there is a valid server entry in the first field, and a valid emailaddr.domain.com in the second.
     
Loading...

Share This Page