The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Site with root access level.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Spyros, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. Spyros

    Spyros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens, Greece, Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    We have cpanel to host our clients sites, furthermore, we host some internal pages for statistics, for cpanel create acount delete subdomains, delete server folders etc. We implemented that with cron jobs because that sites has no access to exec aplications out of their account.

    the implementation of this is something like that: i deside to delete a folder, from our internal site we choose it and with php we set in database that this folder will be delete. after another script with root privileges run from cron check the database see the changes and know that it must delete the folder.

    How can give in a site root access level so it can delete a folder?

    I know for security issues of that but we cover them and we need this for many functions.

    Regards,

    Savvanis Spyros
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    What type of directory are you attempting to delete with account level access? For instance, is it a directory within the account or outside of the account's home directory?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Spyros

    Spyros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens, Greece, Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Its outside of the account, so its need root access , and we have some other task that need root access to(instant backup ,etc)

    Regards,
    Savvanis Spyros
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should implement those cron jobs from the "root" level if you want to delete directories that only the "root" user will have access to. For example, from SSH as "root", run this command:

    Code:
    crontab -e
    Thank you.
     
  5. Spyros

    Spyros Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens, Greece, Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi michael,

    You misunderstood me , we all ready implemented this with cronjobs from root account. from a web page interface we setup a db for what to exec and a cron script check the db and exec what is needed.

    But we now need speed, we cant wait for cron to check even if the cron running every minute. so for that one page of our hosting we need to have root privileges ( we are aware for the danger), can we implemented that via cpanel?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It seems like an overall bad implementation of a script if you need to grant root access to an account for it to function correctly. Could you elaborate a little more on how this script works so that we can offer some alternatives?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page